Book Review: Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters, #1) by Alethea Kontis

book reviewing-01

enchantedTitle: Enchanted
Series: Woodcutter Sisters, #1
Author: Alethea Kontis
Date(s) read: July 24, 2013
Genre: YA Fairy Tale Retellings
Source: Publisher (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past – and hers?

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Sons for a copy of this for review!

There’s something about fairy tales that I just love. Specifically, fairy tale retellings. You can get retellings that are a little more fantasy-based, or you can get some that are contemporary-based, but no matter what kind you get, they’re usually a lot of fun!

When I started reading Enchanted, I really had no idea what to expect, so when I got the story of Sunday meeting a frog, I was instantly smitten. I mean, we all know about the frog prince. Surely one kiss will mean he turns into a prince, right? Well, not quite. Since they meet in the early pages of the book, it’s not that simple! I kind of loved Sunday’s character and the magic she held — it was also neat to meet her sisters and see what kind of strength they had in their lives.

Obviously, the romance part of the book was my favourite, but I also kind of loved how it wasn’t a story based on just one fairytale, but one that had a mashup of so many fairytales. I’m sure there were some that I didn’t even notice, but it was fun to see how many I could spot as the story went on. It was also quite a quick read, but one that flowed quite nicely. I really loved Kontis’s writing and wished that the story would never end!

The number of fairytales contained within this short book can be a little intense, but it really was a fun read. I loved getting lost in the magic and fantasy of this world — and falling in love with the characters was an added bonus!

This book was a pleasant surprise and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series, Hero, that deals with Saturday, one of Sunday’s sisters. If this book is any indication, it’ll be a fun read!

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters, #1) by Alethea Kontis

  1. I like to think that I also love fairy tale retellings but TBH the only ones I have read are the Marissa Meyer series, but I did love them wholeheartedly. This one sounds good, though I am not sure about it having so many different ones thrown into one book. Happy that you liked it so much!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

