Sunday Reads (51)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life: 

A somewhat eventful week for me! I worked one shift and spent the rest of my time at home trying to stay awake. I’m not sure what it is, but every morning I wake up feeling like I’ve been hit by a truck and don’t really wake up until about noon. WOE. Oh, to be able to drink all the coffee … #preggoproblems

On Thursday, I went to a Kelley Armstrong signing at a library not too far away. I’ve seen her twice and both times have been at big bookstores, so the turnouts have always been HUGE. This one was about 45 people (including Lisa from Little Miss Trainwreck!) and a lot more intimate. She read an excerpt from her new book, Omens, and an excerpt from The Summoning and answered a lot of questions! I got a few more books signed and made it home in just over 15 minutes. Not bad!

On Saturday, the husband and I went to a local food and Halloween festival, which was a lot of fun. We ate plenty of pumpkin goodness, got lost in a corn maze, and I managed to leave with pumpkin fudge. PUMPKINFUDGE. It’s delicious. And almost gone.

Other than that, I cleaned the house, craved chocolate, drank tea, and attempted to read.

In reading (& blogging): 

This week I read:

1. Any Duchess Will Do (Spindle Cove, #4) by Tessa Dare (sad to be caught up on this series!)

2. The MacKinnon Curse: The Beginning (The MacKinnon Curse, #0.5) by J. A. Templeton

3. The Deepest Cut (The MacKinnon Curse, #1) by J. A. Templeton

My reading this week wasn’t terrible, but not the greatest. I’m not sure what it was, but I just couldn’t sit down and really get into a story! It wasn’t until Friday night that I read something straight through (well, Friday night and at about 3:30am Saturday when I woke up. Tragic.). That being said, I do have a few books on the go (a good mix — a horror, a Canadian fiction, a dystopia ARC, and The Book Thief, still.) and am enjoying them! I just need the motivation to just _sit_ and read.

I did do quite a bit of blogging this week … lots of post and review writing, formatting, blah blah blah. At least I was productive in that sense!

Now, onto the books! (Click on the covers to be taken to Goodreads)

One ebook for review. Thank you to EgmontUSA for this one!

infinityglass

I bought a few books this week, showing some local author and Canadian author love! I had intended to get a few other books by local authors, but the bookstore didn’t have them. *grumbles* There’s supposedly a great bookstore in the city, Audreys Books, but it’s one of those ones where you need to know how to parallel park. I am NOT one of those people, so I’ve been scared to visit!

annabel rosina the midwife the antagonist

Kathleen Winter is originally from the U.K. but lives in Montreal — the synopsis of this book reminds me a bit of Self by Yann Martel, so it should be a good one! Jessica Kluthe is from Edmonton and Laura (from Reading in Bed) really enjoyed this book — I have to say, it sounds fantastic! And Lynn Coady is another Edmontonian (originally from Nova Scotia). I have her book Hellgoing, which has been nominated for a Giller Prize!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

18 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (51)

  1. Ooh pumpkin fudge sounds really delicious! And Infinityglass is on my wishlist 😀
    Enjoy your books and happy reading! That’s so cool u got to see Armstrong, I’m going to my first book event tomorrow and I’m excited 😀

    Dee @ Dee’s Reads- my STS

  2. Yay for meeting Kelley Armstrong again! It would be nice to have met her at a small event too, the last one was over 200 people and it was hard to hear her. That sucks about you always being tired too, but at least it’s getting closer to baby time right?
    It’s awesome you’re reading books by Canadian authors, I’m actually reading a series right now from one who lives in the same city as me somewhere!
    Have a good week!

    • Oh that’s great that you’re reading a series by a local author! I’ve been thinking about writing a post about local authors and why some of us never seem to want to read them … I need to get into more of these books. There are some great ones out there! What series are you reading?

      And yes … close to baby! Just under 3 months, I’m at 29 weeks today. Yikes! I’m starting to get a little scared about the whole thing, but I’m sure that’ll pass. 🙂

      • You should definitely do a post about that, I need more Canadian authors to read too! I’m reading the Grigori Legacy by Linda Poitevin 🙂

        It’s so exciting! I’m sure you’ll be nervous when it gets closer, but it’ll all be worth it!

    • It was amazing. And there is no “rest” of the pumpkin fudge. Finished it this morning it was that good!

      I wish I could nap this week, but looking at my calendar, I have a busy week ahead!

  3. Woo, good for you for showing some Canadian author love!! I need to do that more. Sorry to hear about the pregnancy problems… you girls sure scared me at the last meet-up with all the pregnancy talk – it just sounds terrible! haha, I guess some women like it, but it just seems like it’s hard for most. PUMPKIN FUDGE. Uhhh, never even heard of it before now but I WANT.

    • Ha ha … it’s really not scary, Aylee. I hope Brie & I aren’t scaring you off! There’s definitely been some issues, but it’s still so fascinating knowing that there’s a little life growing inside of me — and the kicks I get every day make it so much more enjoyable! I thought I’d be grossed out or kept awake by all the kicking, but I’m not. It’s nice to have that reassurance that things are progressing in there. The only thing that really scares me is the actual birthing of the child … but I *know* I’m not the only one who feels that! And I know that once baby is out, any reservations I had about that bit of the process will be forgotten …

      Love the Canadian authors … I’m excited to read more of them! And oh dear gosh, the pumpkin fudge was DELICIOUS. 🙂

  4. Oh the pregnancy insomnia. There is nothing worse than waking up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and not being able to fall back asleep, horrible!

    Sounds like you had fun at the Kelley Armstrong event. Also, I think you had a good reading week (It would be for me!)..lol

    Enjoy your new books and have a great week!

    • I’ve gotten better this week, but now I just get up early. Like, I’ll wake up every hour wondering when I can get up. But then I fall back asleep. It’s weird!

      Hope you had a good week!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

