Challenge Update: Anne & Kristilyn’s 2013 Book Bingo Reading Challenge (Update #3)

2013 Bingo Challenge Button-01

This post is for the participants of the 2013 Book Bingo reading challenge! Thank you to all the participants — we hope you’re having fun!

For the full post on this challenge, visit the original post page.

This is the THIRD update for the challenge — how is everyone doing with their Bingo scorecards? Any winners yet?

Add your update page to the Linky  below — whether you’ve reached a line, a square, or if you’ve already blacked out the board, we want to see your progress! Be sure to share your updates as you read on Twitter using the hashtag #2013BookBingo. If you don’t have a post about your update, that’s okay! Feel free to add your update in the comments below!

For example, you can see the progress I’ve made on my Book Bingo page.

A few reminders: 

The FREE SQUARE is NOT a free square! You must read a book recommended by someone else participating in the challenge! If you’re looking for a recommendation, feel free to post your request below, or by using the hashtag on Twitter.

If you’re joining the challenge late, any of the books you’ve read since January 1st can be used toward the challenge.

I just want to remind everyone how to use the board: the first line across you will read one book per category, the second line across you will need to read TWO books per category, etc. all before you can mark that space as being complete. The only exception to this is the free square, where you will only need to read ONE book. If you have any questions about this, let me know!

And some housekeeping: 

This is the inaugural Book Bingo challenge for me and Anne! We hope to bring it to you next year, so I ask: how are we doing? Is there anything you would change about the challenge? 

And most importantly, I hope you are all having FUN with the challenge!

The next and FINAL update will take place on December 31, 2013! 

Are you participating in the Book Bingo challenge? Have you become the super reader yet? 

signature-01

26 thoughts on “Challenge Update: Anne & Kristilyn’s 2013 Book Bingo Reading Challenge (Update #3)

  1. I keep seeing everyone talk about their progress in this challenge and feel like I should’ve joined. I see you can join whenever, but am too lazy to backtrack and see which books have already met the requirements or whatnot. Fail! I’m glad to see you’ll be doing it again next year though. I think I’ll join 🙂

  2. I am so close to being done! I have some re-reads and TBR books to get to, and I have the free square book on my shelf now 🙂
    Like I mentioned before, the only thing I would change would be a wider variety of squares to complete.

    • Good for you! Rereads have been hard for me, but I’ve discovered a few authors I love rereading, so now I’m on a roll!

      You can see Bev’s suggestions for a free square read … and I’ll post some soon, too!

  3. Suggestions for free squares:
    If you like historical mysteries–any of the India Black books by Carol K Carr (Victorian) or any of the Phryne Fisher books by Kerry Greenwood (1920s Australia)

    If you like a more modern mystery–The Girl in the Green Raincoat by Laura Lippman or any of the Hannah Scarlett books by Martin Edwards

    If you like more literary fiction–The End of the Alphabet by C. S. Richardson

    If you like books about books–84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

  4. Hi Kristilyn and Anne! Thanks so much for hosting Book Bingo. It’s been a lot of fun. I’ve shouted out BINGO! a couple of times, but I don’t know if anyone heard me. Oh well. I still have more than a dozen books to read to complete my board, but you never know! December 31 isn’t THAT close. Well.. I work well under pressure, anyway. 😉

    For anyone looking for ideas to fill their free square, visit the links to other participants’ board updates so you can see what they’ve read for the challenge.. I’m sure you’ll find something! See the Linky in this post.

    Good luck finishing your board everyone! And congrats to Bev for doing so already! That’s impressive.

    • A dozen books is TOTALLY doable! You can do it! 🙂

      There are lots of suggestions in this post for free reads, which is great! And isn’t Bev awesome? Yay for our super readers!

      • I’m really hoping to finish my board. I already read my free read a few months ago. I have a handful of books in all of the other categories to read. But I have most of them picked out already, so at least I have a plan. 😉

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

