Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

Hey! It’s read-a-thon time! Namely … Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon time! This Saturday! Mark your calendars!

deweyread_edited-1-300x200

You might be thinking, “But gee! I know you’re preggo and tired and all, so how on earth can you stay up for 24 hours?”

Truthfully? I’m not. My read-a-thon time starts at 6am, so I’ll be starting then and just going until I go to bed at night. My body is already out of whack enough with baby that I don’t need to confuse it by staying up for 24-hours. AND that’s a good way for me to get sick and I definitely don’t want that happening! So, close to 18 hours it’ll be!

What’s this read-a-thon all about? 

It’s sort of a reading challenge, only everyone participates at the same time. For 24 hours, we read books, post in our blogs about our reading, and visit other readers’ blogs. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day and win prizes.

Sounds fun, huh?

If you want to sign up, you can visit the official webpage for the read-a-thon.

My time dedicated to reading

Like I said, I’ve got some preggo woes, so I’ll be fitting in reading as much as I can during the day, taking breaks to spend time with the husband AND to participate in some of the awesome challenges. I’ll also be going to bed at a decent time (well, probably later than I usually go to bed … *cough*eight-thirty*cough*) since I don’t want to get sick and we have Thanksgiving dinner on Sunday. It’ll be a very casual read-a-thon for me!

What I’m planning on reading

If I’ve learned anything from previous read-a-thons (and I’ve done quite a few!) I know that the key is to mix it up, keep the books shorter, and definitely switch up a book if I’m not into it.

Here’s what I’ll be choosing from:

in a glass grimmly rescue at fort edmonton the haunted the spindlers a handful of time

I’ve tried to mix it up just a bit, but I guess there’s more middle grade on this list than anything else! I wanted to include a Canadian author AND a local author, so that’s accomplished … I might sneak in an audiobook if I have to do other things, too.

The last time I participated in this read-a-thon was in 2011 and I managed 5 books and an audiobook in about 23 hours. I’m hoping to get through at LEAST three books, but we’ll see!

Updates

I’ll be adding update posts throughout the day on Saturday! I’ll try not to do too many of them, but maybe one ever 6 hours …

Are you participating in this read-a-thon?

signature-01

12 thoughts on “Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

  1. I’ll be participating on Saturday too. I have a stack of graphic novels and a few novels. I won’t make it all 24 hours. I never do but I love spending the majority of the day reading.

  2. That sounds like so much fun! I wish I could join but there’s this parenting a toddler thing I have going. And also my brother’s wedding. It would be rude to read under the table, I hear. Happy Thanksgiving!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

