Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon FINAL UPDATE

Are you still read-a-thon-ing ? My day doing the Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is over!

deweyread_edited-1-300x200

What a day today has been! I had decided last minute to participate in the read-a-thon and I’m glad that I did because I got some good books read, chatted with some fun people on Twitter, and had a good time!

Total # of hours read: 

Sadly, only 17 hours! I know that sounds like a lot, and it is, but I was hoping for 18. By the time the 16th hour rolled around (9pm my time) I was already getting ready for bed! The decision was made to finish off some of my in-progress books from the week and then call it a night.

Books read: 

I managed to get a LOT of books read! I’m happy about this!

1. Into the Hollow (Experiment in Terror, #6) by Karina Halle (reread – had the last 33% to go!)

2. Hellgoing: Stories by Lynn Coady (Local author – started on Friday, had about 76% left to read)

3. This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales (LOVE)

4. The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver (Not as good as Liesl & Po, but still fun!)

5. In a Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark & Grimm, #2) by Adam Gidwitz (Oh gosh – SO great!)

6. Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Halloween by Melanie Watt (Canadian – Picture book. Love the squirrel.)

7. 40 Below: Edmonton’s Winter Anthology (Various authors – Local – Made me crave winter)

Final thoughts: 

I am so surprised at my progress this read-a-thon! The last time I participated in Dewey was in 2011 and I only managed just over 5 books. Mind you, one of those books was a Cassandra Clare and it was HUGE, but I still think I did pretty good this time around. I had a good mix of middle grade, local, and YA books — not to mention short stories, which really helped!

I’m sad that this will be my last read-a-thon hurrah for a while, but hopefully one day I’ll be able to join again.

Thank you to everyone who cheered me on!

Did you participate in this read-a-thon? How did you do? 

signature-01

8 thoughts on “Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon FINAL UPDATE

  1. Oh my… I envy 17 hours of reading! And so many books! Just one time I hope to learn that reading shorter books will make me feel more successful. ::sigh::

    Congrats on your accomplishment. [And on that amazing Sunday post photo of the three dogs sitting together. What an incredible shot!] Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    • Shorter books are definitely key for read-a-thons … I’ve learned from the past!

      This will be my last 17 hours of continuous reading for a long while! It was nice to get it in. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

