Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon UPDATES (#1)

Are you read-a-thon-ing yet? The Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is here!

deweyread_edited-1-300x200

I’m just a wee bit late starting, BUT super impressed since I only relied on my inner body clock to get me up in time for a 6am start. AND, for anyone keeping track, remember how we lost our cat almost two weeks ago? Well, the husband stayed up ALL NIGHT and saw her at 4:30 am! He tried going out to her, but she was super freaked and ran out into the bush, but she’s still around! That makes us very happy!

Anyway, my updates for today will be in THIS POST. I’ll be doing challenges and whatnot as I go and updating the post throughout the day so I’m not clogging up your feeds with post after post.

And, at the end of my first update:

Books Read: 1
Snacks Consumed: PB&J sandwich, banana, yogurt (boring, I know)
Bevvies: Tea, water (again, boring)
Notes: Commented on some blogs, participated in the first three challenges, and chatted on Twitter quite a bit! I’d say the first three hours have been successful!

HOUR ONE: THE INTRODUCTORY QUESTIONNAIRE 

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Canada! More specifically (but still slightly vague) near Edmonton, AB.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I have a few local books in my stack, mainly Rescue At Fort Edmonton by Rita Feutl, that I’m looking forward to, AND Lauren Oliver’s The Spindlers (LOVE her stuff!).

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I actually don’t have ANY snacks planned out, but I do have a big pile of Honeycrisp apples I’m looking forward to … maybe with a side of cheese and crackers. Mmm …

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m 32 years old.
I’m currently almost 8 months pregnant!
One of my favourite things to do is create music.
When I’m not reading, I’m usually watching my favourite TV shows or baking something.
I live with my husband of 5 years and our three dogs and two cats (see above: I can still count her because she’s been seen!)

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Well, last time I stayed up for 23 hours, but since I’m preggo, I’m just playing it by ear. Other than that, I think I did pretty good the last time! I read smaller books (ok, except for one larger one), I went for a drive, I mixed it up with audiobooks, I had healthy snacks … hopefully I can recreate that today! 

I’m most looking forward to interacting with other readers! And getting some books off of my TBR pile!

HOUR TWO CHALLENGE: BOOK TUNES

Shannon, from River City Reading, has a challenge for us to match a song to our book! I have to admit, I laughed a little when I read what we’re supposed to do because I’m reading THE CRAZIEST BOOK right now, The Spindlers, by Lauren Oliver, which has to do with changelings, and there are spiders (called spindlers), and a talking rat, and potato-creatures that steal things …

This could be tricky.

After much deliberation (and a lot of cluelessness) I came up with this one:

It might not match completely, but I think it’s the closest one I could find!

HOUR THREE CHALLENGE: A PUZZLING CHALLENGE

Tami, over at Just One More Thing, gave us this puzzle to find FOOD in:

puzzle2

We didn’t have to name the books, just the food! Which is kind of dangerous first thing in the morning when tummies are rumbling …

Here’s what I saw:

  • lemon pie
  • chocolat(e)
  • green eggs and ham
  • potato peel pie
  • fried green tomatoes
  • pie

And that’s it. That was tough! If you know the other four, let me know! I’m curious!

 

Are you participating in this read-a-thon?

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon UPDATES (#1)

  1. I’m not participating because I have way too much housework to get caught up on (Oh how I wish Kailyn was better at cleaning up behind herself… Gah. So I have a few plans of trying to organise today and there are going to be some toys disappearing, but that’s okay because it’s almost Christmas.. Right?..lol Every time I look around I get slightly overwhelmed, but I think a good audiobook will help, so I’ll still be reading I guess? 😛 I think the rest of Ender’s Game is calling my name. I should be able to finish listening to it today.

    Good luck!

    I am sooo happy your cat has been spotted! I hope you can get her to come back in!

    • Nothing wrong with an audiobook! I have one ready to go in case I feel inclined to clean or something. So far I’m pretty happy just relaxing in my chair with my tea and book!

      I’m sad this will be my last readathon hurrah for a while! Hopefully one day me and the kidlet will do it together. 🙂

  2. Haven’t read anything by Lauren Oliver, but she sounds kinda fun, so there it goes: another book to my infinite TBR pile…

    Your read-a-thon routine sounds so healthy and reasonable. Makes me want to hide the chocolate bars and pretend I’m just as well adjusted 😛

    Good luck and happy reading!

    • My completing that book means I’ve now read ALL of Lauren Oliver’s books! This one was more of a middle grade book, probably not as good as Liesl & Po (which I highly recommend reading via audiobook).

      My routine is healthy because we have no junk in the house AND because I’m preggo and have to get some healthy stuff in me … I do plan on some root beer later!

  3. Read, read, read that book,
    Whether on paper or a nook.
    We all know you can do it,
    Your determination will get you though it!

    Keeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeppppppp reading. 🙂

    You may be sleepy, you may be tired,
    But your dedication is most admired.
    If you’re wilting don’t despair,
    A cup of tea/coffee will get you there!

    Ra-ra-Readathon!

    (Ok so you’ve probably gathered I’m terrible at making rhymes, so I will make up for it with my enthusiastic pom pom waving!)

    It looks like you are doing a great job so far, I love that your are participating in a lot of the mini challenges which look really fun, I wish I was doing them! I hope you enjoy the rest of your readathon and keep up the good work. 😀

    Team Bear

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

