Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon UPDATES (#3)

Are you read-a-thon-ing yet? The Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is here!

deweyread_edited-1-300x200

The first two updates were for the first 3 hours each, but since I’m slacking in the challenges department, I thought I’d put a little more time on this one!

Update from hours SEVEN through TWELVE:

HOUR SEVEN & EIGHT

Books Read: 0
Books Read Total: 2 (+ 26% of Hellgoing by Lynn Coady; working on This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales)
Snacks Consumed: Cheese, crackers, pepperoni, and an apple; granola bar
Bevvies: Water
Notes: There was a mad-lib challenge at hour six that I never did participate in … the book I was reading didn’t really have a paragraph that could lend itself to mad-libs! I did participate in the hour seven challenge, Books on Books — we had to guess the names of books that were hidden under leaves based on the few bits and pieces we could see of the cover. I did AWFUL. I got a total of two. Woo.

HOUR NINE & TEN

Books Read: 1
Books Read Total: 3 (+ 26% of Hellgoing by Lynn Coady)
Snacks Consumed: Chips! And root beer! Yum!
Bevvies: Water, root beer (!!)
Notes: Some leisurly reading hours, it seems. I decided to start This Song Will Save Your Life earlier this afternoon (a book that wasn’t on my initial reading list) and it’s awesome. Also chatted with the husband about yardwork and the cat for a bit AND played with the puppies. I may have also done house stuff like making beds, doing laundry, and loading the dishwasher. I’ve *kind of* hit my goal of finishing 3 books, except that the third book was only the last 33% of a book, but I still have lots of time to sneak in a full one!

HOUR ELEVEN & TWELVE

Books Read: 0
Books Read Total: 3 (sooo close to being done Hellgoing by Lynn Coady)
Snacks Consumed: Dinner (leftovers) and some cookies
Bevvies: Water 😦
Notes: So far I’m still awake! This is a good thing! Usually I zonk out somewhere in the afternoon, but I’ve been crazy alert all day. Here’s hoping for another (possible) six hours of reading!

HOUR TEN CHALLENGE: BOOK TRAILER MINI-CHALLENGE

Hosted by Jehara, we’re to share with you our favourite book trailers! YAY! I can do this one! I have a lot of favourite book trailers, but these are some of the BEST, in my opinion.

HOUR ELEVEN CHALLENGE: THE SELF PORTRAIT

It’s inevitable. When you are doing a 24-hour read-a-thon and you look terrible, someone (in this case, The Estella Society) will want you to take a self-portrait.

I’m not even going to lie. This has been enhanced, enhanced, enhanced. That’s just how I roll at hour eleven.

20131012_161430

HOUR TWELVE: MID-EVENT SURVEY

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?

I’m doing great! My eyes are a little tired, but not bad. And I’m awake. Which is weird.

2) What have you finished reading?

So far I’ve read:

  • The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver
  • Into the Hollow by Karina Halle
  • This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
  • Hellgoing by Lynn Coady (I’m counting this now — only 10 pages left!)

3) What is your favorite read so far?

Definitely This Song Will Save Your Life!

4) What about your favorite snacks?

Not really a snack, but I’m saying the root beer, since I’ve had a craving for it.

5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!

Not really … but I haven’t been looking! I’ve commented on some posts, but haven’t really taken the time to look at blogs. 😦

Are you participating in this read-a-thon?

signature-01

5 thoughts on “Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon UPDATES (#3)

  1. So now I’m very interested in More Than This. I didn’t really know much about it but it sounds pretty good.

    You are doing great for progress! I finished listening to Ender’s Game *dances*. It was much better than I thought it would be!

    Also, I had a Dr. Pepper today and it made me think of you, in a non creepy way. 🙂

    • Doesn’t the trailer make it look good? I’m interested, too!

      Yay for Dr. Pepper! I’ve moved on now to root beer. I’m not sure what’s going on! Though it’s nice that root beer doesn’t have caffeine!

      Glad you liked Ender’s Game!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

