Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon UPDATES (#4)

Are you read-a-thon-ing yet? The Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is here!

deweyread_edited-1-300x200

This will most likely be my FINAL update since I’m betting I won’t make it past midnight. I’m hoping to at least make it TO midnight, so fingers crossed!

Update from hours THIRTEEN through EIGHTEEN:

HOUR THIRTEEN & FOURTEEN

Books Read: 1
Books Read Total: 4
Snacks Consumed: None 😦
Bevvies: Water 😦
Notes: A peaceful few hours of reading and not much else! It’s sad that it’s dark here again … it was dark when I started!

HOUR FIFTEEN & SIXTEEN

Books Read: 1
Books Read Total: 5
Snacks Consumed: None.
Bevvies: Hot chocolate. Mmm. 🙂
Notes: So the challenge for the fifteenth hour was to recommend a Horror, Mystery, or Thriller book that’s under $3.99. Unfortunately, the challenge was for US participants only! One of my favourite horror books has to be Darkhouse by Karina Halle and you can get that one for FREE from any ebook retailer! There you go. There’s my recommendation! Oh, and there’s also Jenny Pox by J. L. Bryan. Also free from ebook retailers! How can you beat a deal like that?

HOUR SEVENTEEN & …

Books Read: 2
Books Read Total: 7
Snacks Consumed: Banana
Bevvies: Water (so close to bedtime!)
Notes: As much as I thought I could last at LEAST 18 hours, I was wrong … my goal turned into finishing the books I had on the go, as well as a picture book I had won (one of my favourite series, Scaredy Squirrel), and then it was off to bed!

HOUR THIRTEEN CHALLENGE: BEST OF YOUR READING YEAR

Hosted by Lisa, over at Lisa’s World Of Books, we are to share our Bests from the year! We were asked to pick three, but I decided to do as many as I could!

Best Book of Your Reading Year

Golden by Jessi Kirby

Best Romance Book of Your Reading Year

A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1) by Tessa Dare (<– the whole series is awesome!)

Best YA Book of Your Reading Year

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin, #2) by Robin LaFevers

Best New Adult Book of Your Reading Year

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

Best Non-Fiction Book of Your Reading Year

Talking Pictures: Images and Messages Rescued from the Past by Ransom Riggs

Best Sci-Fi Book of Your Reading Year

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (THHGTTG, #1) by Douglas Adams

Best Fantasy Book of Your Reading Year

Hounded (The Iron Driud Chronicles, #1) by Kevin Hearne

Best Children’s Book of Your Reading Year

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Best Fiction Book of Your Reading Year

Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves

Best Main Character of Your Reading Year

Definitely Dex from the Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle!

Best Author of Your Reading Year

Tessa Dare! She lured me in so fast with her Spindle Cove series!

Best Cover of Your Reading Year

A toss-up between the cover for Jessi Kirby’s Golden and Gennifer Albin’s (original) cover for Crewel

Best Setting of Your Reading Year

Thumbs up to the world created in Robin LaFevers’s Dark Triumph … love that world! Also, hat’s off to the world of Croak by Gina Damico. I’m sad to see that series end!

HOUR FOURTEEN CHALLENGE: AUDIOBOOK DREAM DATE

Felicia, over at The Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog is challenging us to pick a book and our dream narrator! If I had to choose, I would say ….

darkly dreaming dexter

Would it be wrong to say I’d love this to be narrated by the man himself, Michael C. Hall? Because that would equal awesome.

Other dream narrators (not for this book, but pretty much any book in general) include David Tennant and Hugh Laurie. I mean, total wins, right?

HOUR SEVENTEEN CHALLENGE: BOOKISH TRAVEL

A Reader’s Respite wants to know the best place a book has taken us … I can think of a few favourite travel books:

wanderlove Anna and the French Kiss new name of the star

From left, we have: Central America, Paris, and England. All wonderful reads!

Are you participating in this read-a-thon?

signature-01

4 thoughts on “Challenge: Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon UPDATES (#4)

  1. I’m usually happy if I can make it to 10 pm on readathon days – I’m super impressed with anyone who can make it even a few hours longer than that! Congrats on finishing 4 books today 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

