Sunday Reads (53)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life: 

Holy man … where is the year going? This week flew by!

Monday was pretty uneventful. Spent some time reading, some time trying to nap. I’ve had a really easy go at pregnancy, but find myself not sleeping so well at night. That usually means I try to nap numerous times throughout the day … usually zonking out in the middle of a book.

The Many Faces of Cooper: The Thinking Dog (Pondering Life, The Universe, and Everything)

The Many Faces of Cooper: The Thinking Dog (Pondering Life, The Universe, and Everything)

Cooper2

The Many Faces of Cooper: Laughing. Probably at me.

Tuesday I started doing some freezer meal preparation and I worked at night. I also harvested ALL the carrots in the garden and prepped them for the freezer … who knew they would take so much work? Now I just the beets to worry about! Wednesday was MORE freezer preparation (can someone say nesting?) — most of which included making shepherd’s pies and chicken pot pies. I learned that nothing is worse than the smell of chicken at 6am. Actually, that would be having to get the meat OFF of the chicken at 6am. Gross.

The UPS man came TWICE this week and the dog is slowly falling in love with him. He gives her cookies and pets and CLEARLY his cookies and pets are better than mine.

Cooper3

The Many Faces of Cooper: His “Please Stop Taking My Picture” face. Oh, alright.

Thursday was another evening of work. The library I work at is closing this week because of renovations. These renos have been going on since before I started LAST year and are almost done! We’ll open up in November with a brand new library, new furniture, and ALL the books! It’s very exciting!

20131006_153823

All together now … also known as, the picture that took so much effort, I’m surprised I didn’t go into early labour setting it up and taking it.

Friday started uneventful, with some regular errands, and then hubs and I decided to drive out to another city about an hour away to get fresh pepperoni, ribs, and sausage. Yup. Totally normal for a Friday. After that trip, it was lots of vegging out for the rest of the day.

20131011_114258

Sausage, anyone?

As far as the cat hunt goes, we did get a phone call about her, but after checking it out, it wasn’t her. AND I thought I saw her eating the food we left out (which is what happens when I wander around without my glasses), but it was the neighbour’s cat. HOWEVER, someone has been eating the food overnight and the neighbours say their cat is inside by dinner time all night, so the husband got home from hockey around 12:30 Friday night and stayed up THE ENTIRE NIGHT to watch and actually saw her! He tried to go outside, but she ran away … apparently, she’s still scared! Poor thing.

Oh, and I hit 30 weeks last week and took a few photos to document (something I’m TERRIBLE at). I can’t believe I’m already this far into the pregnancy … the time is going by so fast! Here’s one for you guys!

30 Weeks

A little blurry, but that’s what happens when you let the other camera’s battery die. Ah well.

In reading (& blogging): 

This week I read:

1. Darth Vadar and Son by Jeffrey Brown

2. Alexander Death (The Paranormals, #3) by J. L. Bryan

3. Just Getting Started: Edmonton Public Library’s First 100 Years, 1913 – 2013 by Todd Babiak (non-fiction, local)

4. Racing Savannah (Hundred Oaks, #4) by Miranda Kenneally

5. Dragon Bound (The Elder Races, #1) by Thea Harrison

6. Into the Hollow (Experiment in Terror, #6) by Karina Halle (reread)

7. Hellgoing: Stories by Lynn Coady (local)

8. This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

9. The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver

10. In a Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark & Grimm, #2) by Adam Gidwitz

11. Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Halloween by Melanie Watt (Canadian)

12. 40 Below: Edmonton’s Winter Anthology (Various authors – Local)

This week would’ve been the PERFECT week for an audiobook, but I just wasn’t in the mood. I spent lots of time in the kitchen, but decided to listen to some music. It was lovely. 🙂

I didn’t spend as much time doing blog things as I would’ve liked, so NATURALLY I’m way behind on review writing. Hopefully I’ll get there this week. I am, however, caught up on all my current TV shows. #priorities?

I signed up for Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon yesterday! The husband had a lot of yardwork he wanted to do, so it was a perfect excuse for doing some reading. And read I did! I’m actually quite surprised by the progress I made. Mainly because my body likes to try to nap for most of the mid-afternoon hours, but I was pretty alert. I guess it helped that hubs was home and I’d interact with him in between his MANY yard chores (the man is stiff and sore now, that’s for sure!) and I had some of my own house stuff to do.

Now, onto the books!

I have NO idea what happened this week, but I got a lot of review books! First the local ones:

20131011_083003

Pigrimage by Diana Davidson
40 Below: Edmonton’s Winter Anthology (by various Edmonton authors)

And now for the eARCs. Big thanks to Carina Press, Forever (Grand Central Publishing), and HarperCollins!

snowbound with the ceo bold tricks into the still blue Panic_HC_JKT_des4.indd

I bought just ONE book this week (and it was an eBook at $0.99!):

the fragile things

The Fragile Things by V. Shaw

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

22 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (53)

  1. Your dogs are adorable. As are you! I’m very jealous because you look tinier than me and I’m like 5 weeks behind you! ..lol I can’t wait to see your little baby! 🙂

    You have been very busy it seems! Much more so than me..lol I have been lazy! Mind you I keep starting to cramp if I do too much and have to go lay down. 😛

    Great job again with the read a thon and wow at your books read this week! I finished Ender’s Game and enjoyed it, but that was about it for me..lol

    Have another wonderful week!

    • I feel like a whale sometimes! It’s nuts … the belly is great, but it sure gets in the way sometimes. I’m 31 weeks today … can’t believe there’s only 9 left!

      That’s great you enjoyed Ender’s Game! I’m not sure if I’ll read that one … I’m not too keen on the author. But I do hear the book is pretty awesome!

      Hope you have a great week, as well!

      • I know what you mean about the belly getting in the way. I honestly forget about it occasionally still. The other night I was getting ready for bed and looked down and had a sudden thought of what the heck is that. Before I remembered it’s my belly..lol

      • I actually wake up sometimes thinking I’m not pregnant, until I reach down and feel the belly. For some reason I think I’ll wake up one day and the belly will be flat … ha ha. Of course, then I get a swift kick and it makes me laugh. 🙂

  2. AWWWWW the puppy pics are adorable!

    You’ve had a crazy busy week! You look great though! Even with the blurry-ness 🙂 Also, that sausage picture is kind of freaking me out, lol. Have a great week!

  3. All your dogs together is so cute! I hope you can get your cat back home soon, but at least it’s good that you spotted her!
    Yay for pregnancy pictures! The time must really feel like it’s flying for you.
    I kind of wanted to try out the Dewey readathon, but it was our anniversary so I had lots of stuff to get done and celebrate 🙂 Good job getting lots of books read too, and enjoy your review ones!

    • Time really is flying! It’s crazy! I’m at 31 weeks today, so only 9 more to go! And that’s IF baby is on time … could come earlier, or could come later!

      Yay for your anniversary! I hope you did some fun stuff!

  4. I always love reading your weekly updates and catching up with what’s going on in your life. Also, it’s kind of ridiculous how excited I am to finally see your baby bump lol. I cannot believe you’re at 30 weeks already! I’m glad you had a good week and got so much reading done. 🙂

    • Thanks, Marie! I’m glad I got so much reading done, too!

      It’s funny because I really haven’t been taking pictures of the bump … I plan to take more in these last 9 weeks!

  5. Awww, love the puppy pics! Cooper poses so well 🙂 I can’t believe you’re in the final stretches of your pregnancy – crazy! It does go fast though, hey? I’m half way done and some days I even forget I’m pregnant! And then some days I’m like, “We’re having a baby?! I’m not ready!!” LOL.

    What city/town is the giant sausage in?? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that one!

    Nice work on Readathon!! Weekends with the husband are so precious as that’s the only time we ever have off together so I’m not sure I could ever convince him to leave me alone for the day to read lol. Well that and I also had this annoying thing called work to do this weekend. No turkey dinner for me 😦 Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

    • I think that’s the anti-pose with Cooper. He did NOT want his picture taken.

      This is going by SO fast! I can’t believe I’m in the 31st week! I was thinking that I really should start packing a bag just in case I go into early labour. And I’m still hoping the crib gets here on time! We have no idea when that’s supposed to get in …

      The sausage is in Mundare! They have a meat factory where they sell the best ham sausages, pepperoni, ribs, etc. It’s always better to get it fresh from there … though you can get the sausage from the grocery store.

      The husband actually had a lot of winter prep yard work he wanted to do AND it was Hockey Night in Canada. He was definitely occupied for the day!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

