Review: Death Sentence (Escape From Furnace, #3) by Alexander Gordon Smith

book reviewing-01

death sentenceTitle: Death Sentence
Series: Escape From Furnace, #3
Author: Alexander Gordon Smith
Date(s) read: September 5 – 8, 2013
Genre: YA Horror
Source: Library (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Alex’s second attempt to break out of Furnace Penetentiary has failed. This time his punishment will be much worse than before. Because in the hidden, bloodstained laboratories beneath the prison, he will be made into a monster. As the warden pumps something evil into his veins–a sinisterly dark nectar–Alex becomes what he most fears . . . a superhuman minion of Furnace. How can he escape when the darkness is inside him? How can he lead the way to freedom if he is lost to himself?

my thoughts-01

I seriously, seriously had my doubts on this series after the last book — and if you’re reading this review withOUT having read the first books in this series, then you’re probably in for a spoiler — especially when the book ended and they still hadn’t escaped from Furnace. I mean, the whole SERIES couldn’t revolve around them just being back in prison, right? RIGHT?!?!

It kind of reminded me of Prison Break, in a way. But I digress. 

At any rate, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the momentum still continues in this book! It had been a while since I read the first two books in the series and even though I was a little upset by the end of the second book, I couldn’t say that the book was terrible. In fact, this series is the complete OPPOSITE of terrible. If you’re looking for fast-paced storylines, perfect pacing, lots of action, likeable characters, and horror (with maybe a touch of gore), then this is the series for you. It just keeps getting better!

One thing I’ve learned reading this series is that it really isn’t for the faint of heart. There are some really gross scenes — I was cringing at a few parts! I’ve said it in the past, but I still think that this series is such a boy series. I’m surprised that I’ve managed to keep going, still liking it — when it comes to books that are really out of my comfort zone, I think this series falls into that category.

But the characters are great. It was nice to recall certain characters from previously in the series and know their story. There’s not too much information given out at one time that it’s easy to remember the things about the characters. There wasn’t one character who I couldn’t remember when I read this book. There’s nothing worse than reading a book and seeing someone, thinking, Who are you again? 

Like I said, this series just keeps getting better and better and I already have a copy of the next book on my kitchen table to read soon! I can’t wait to get more of the story. Alexander Gordon Smith really is a great storyteller and can pull the readers in within the first few pages. I can’t recommend this series enough!

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

6 thoughts on “Review: Death Sentence (Escape From Furnace, #3) by Alexander Gordon Smith

    • This series is SO GOOD. I may have mislabeled the number, though … if you put it on your wishlist, Lockdown is the first one! And it was nominated for a Young Reader’s Choice Award it was so good! Definitely worth a read. 🙂

    • It really is a good story! I love how it just keeps building … right when I think the next book can’t be as good as the previous one, I’m wrong! Can’t wait to dig into book four!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

