[ARC] Review: Six Months Later by Natalie Richards

book reviewing-01

six months laterTitle: Six Months Later
Author: Natalie Richards
Date(s) read: September 16 – , 2013
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery
Source: Publisher (ARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Chloe didn’t think about it much when she nodded off in study hall on that sleepy summer day. But when she wakes up, snow is on the ground and she can’t remember the last six months of her life. Before, she’d been a mediocre student. Now, she’s on track for valedictorian and being recruited by Ivy League schools. Before, she never had a chance with super jock Blake. Now he’s her boyfriend. Before, she and Maggie were inseparable. Now her best friend won’t speak to her.

What happened to her?
And why can’t she remember?

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Raincoast Books for an ARC of this book for review!

When I first got this ARC in the mail, I was confused. When I get newsletters and accept ARCs, I go by the synopsis, so this one HAD to be good — I just couldn’t remember a darn thing about it. The funny thing is that the entire book deals with memory — of the loss of it. Seemed like I was starting the story already empathizing with the main character!

I actually really liked this one. I’m never usually one for mystery novels, but this one was very well done. At first, I just loved the cover. My ARC doesn’t have the finished cover, so when I saw the finished version, I was in love. And when I started reading the story, I really liked the main character. I honestly had NO idea what she was going through and felt so tied up in the mystery that I didn’t want to put the story down.

This story really reminded me of Liane Moriarty’s story What Alice Forgot, where the main character Alice wakes up in the gym after hitting her head and is missing a HUGE chunk of her life. Obviously, the idea isn’t a new one, but it’s very intriguing to me. While I don’t have the best memory, I can’t imagine losing large chunks of my life — especially if I wake up and things are completely different from how I thought they were. It’s a scary thought!

This was a real page-turner for me – I was completely riveted from the first page. The pacing was spot-on, I liked all of the twists and turns that took place, and thought the ending was done quite nicely. I’m eager to see what Natalie Richards comes up with next!

rating-5-01

Author Links
GOODREADS

signature-01

10 thoughts on “[ARC] Review: Six Months Later by Natalie Richards

  1. I almost requested this one because it sounds pretty good! I’m not normally a mystery person, but this one just sounds so interesting.

    I’m happy to see you enjoyed it so much! And I get the memory thing..lol pregnancy brain!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

