Book Hoarder’s Selection (37): Omens (Cainsville, #1) by Kelley Armstrong

book hoarder's selection-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased, which have been neglected for a long time.

omensTITLE: Omens (Cainsville, #1)

AUTHOR: Kelley Armstrong

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since August.

WHY I’M READING IT: My love affair with Kelley Armstrong’s writing has been a looooong and sloooooow event. I remember reading back to a review I wrote of the final book in her Darkest Powers series (the first series I read by her) and I wrote that I wasn’t sure if I’d continue reading the author’s works. Of course, then I bought the ENTIRE Women of the Otherworld series (well, the first 12 and then got the last one at the first book signing of hers I went to) and then won her Darkest Rising series. Clearly, after obtaining so many of her books, I better get reading them! I fell in love with the WOTO series and when I read the synopsis for this one, I knew I’d love it, too. So, here is hoping! I’ve heard amazing things about it and look at the cover — isn’t it gorgeous? I think this will be the perfect read for these few days before Halloween!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSIS:

#1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong begins her new series with Omens, featuring a compelling new heroine thrust into a decades-old murder case and the dark mysteries surrounding her strange new home.

Twenty-four-year-old Olivia Taylor Jones has the perfect life. The only daughter of a wealthy, prominent Chicago family, she has an Ivy League education, pursues volunteerism and philanthropy, and is engaged to a handsome young tech firm CEO with political ambitions.

But Olivia’s world is shattered when she learns that she’s adopted. Her real parents? Todd and Pamela Larsen, notorious serial killers serving a life sentence. When the news brings a maelstrom of unwanted publicity to her adopted family and fiancé, Olivia decides to find out the truth about the Larsens.

Olivia ends up in the small town of Cainsville, Illinois, an old and cloistered community that takes a particular interest in both Olivia and her efforts to uncover her birth parents’ past.

Aided by her mother’s former lawyer, Gabriel Walsh, Olivia focuses on the Larsens’ last crime, the one her birth mother swears will prove their innocence. But as she and Gabriel start investigating the case, Olivia finds herself drawing on abilities that have remained hidden since her childhood, gifts that make her both a valuable addition to Cainsville and deeply vulnerable to unknown enemies. Because there are darker secrets behind her new home and powers lurking in the shadows that have their own plans for her.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

11 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (37): Omens (Cainsville, #1) by Kelley Armstrong

  1. I actually don`t love the cover you`ve posted here, but I LOVE the cover I see in Coles downtown – the one with the crow. Crows are so damn creepy. I`ll wait for your review and decide if I want to make this my first Kelly Armstrong book.

    • That’s so funny that you mention the cover. I read this comment while in the car (not driving) and had to go see what cover I posted … it’s not the cover I have! I think I have the one you mentioned. That’s the Canadian cover you see in the store … it’s very pretty!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

