Wait? What? It’s NANOWRIMO time! Gather the confetti!

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

On Friday, another fun month of NaNoWriMo began!

I actually wasn’t planning on participating this year, what with Baby Reading In Winter on the way in early December, but I decided it could be a great pre-baby goal — to actually WIN at NaNo one year.

Of course, I decided this last Wednesday, which meant I had NO idea what I would write and started with the barest of bones of an idea. Or, the cousin of an idea. The LONG DISTANCE cousin of an idea.

Does that spell trouble?

I hope not.

I do have high hopes to actually reach my goal this year, outline be dammed! If you’re a winger, let’s wing this together! (Winger? Pantser?)

If you want to add me as a friend, visit my NaNo page at: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/kristilyn

Are you a book blogger who’s participating this year? If you are, add me as a writing buddy! We can cheer each other on!

To get everyone in the writing mood, I thought I’d compile some of the writing advice that has come by the blog in the past year. I’ve had a few authors do Q&A’s and writing advice is one of my questions! So, without further adieu, here is writing advice from writers themselves:

Saturday, August 8, 2009.   Photo/Robert J. Galbraith).

Catherine McKenzie, author of Forgotten, Hidden, and Arranged (read her Q&A here):

Write. Write. Write. Just write.

Jesse-Petersen

Jesse Petersen, author of the Living with the Dead series (read her Q&A here): 

Write a book. Then edit the book. Then write another book. Honestly, you learn to write by writing and you have to put your butt in a chair and do it regularly.

Michelle Zink

Michelle Zink, author of A Temptation of Angels (read her Q&A here): 

Finish something. We writers can spend YEARS staring at the page, writing and rewriting the same chapter (or paragraph – lol!). But in the end, you’re not going to get BETTER if you don’t finish anything. You’ll learn more from the process of writing something from beginning to end than anything else you can do. I don’t think you can really get a big picture view on the process until you see it all the way through.

miranda kenneally

Miranda Kenneally, author of the Hundred Oaks series (read her Q&A here): 

Yes. 1) Write the absolute best book you can before trying to get an agent. 2) Don’t give up even if your friends and family aren’t all that supportive at first. 3) Read, read, read. You can’t learn to write well unless you know the market and what books in your genre are like.

karina halle

Karina Halle, author of the Experiment in Terror series (read her Q&A here): 

Don’t think. Just do. And to make it easier on yourself, write out an outline first. Know where you are going before you start. And follow through. You can find the time, so make the time, and you’ll get it done.

And if you still need MOAR motivation, here are some advice and pep talks:

Did you miss my links from last year? Here they are now!

AND, if you’re looking for some inspiration from one of the top writers, I really recommend reading On Writing, by Stephen King. It’s a WONDERFUL read and full of tips and inspiration!

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? What kind of advice can YOU give to aspiring writers and all the participants this year? 

signature-01

14 thoughts on “Wait? What? It’s NANOWRIMO time! Gather the confetti!

  1. I’m so far behind already >.< Darn daylight savings time and messing up my child's sleep schedule… 😦 I ended up going to be early last night, rather than writing like my original plan was. Then it didn't even matter because she got up two hours earlier than normal -.-

  2. Great tips and resources! I was just on the NaNo site and saw that you’re kicking ass. I’m behind already because I’ve barely been home but I’m determined to sit down and get a bunch written later this afternoon. Keep up the great work!

  3. Pingback: Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#2) | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#3) | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#4) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

