[ARC] Review: Love Overdue by Pamela Morsi

book reviewing-01

love overdueTitle: Love Overdue
Author: Pamela Morsi
Genre: Contemporary
Source: NetGalley & Publisher (ARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Meet Dorothy Jarrow: devotedly unsexy librarian

Buttoned-up book lover DJ is all sensible shoes, drab skirts and studious glasses. After an ill-advised spring-break-fueled fling left her mortified, she’s committed to her prim and proper look. When she’s hired by a rural library in middle-of-nowhere Kansas, she finally has the lifestyle to match-and she can’t wait to get her admin on.

But it’s clear from day one that the small-town library is more interested in circulating rumors than books. DJ has to organize her unloved library, win over oddball employees and avoid her flamboyant landlady’s attempts to set her up with the town pharmacist. Especially that last part-because it turns out handsome Scott Sanderson is her old vacation fling! She is not sure whether to be relieved or offended when he doesn’t seem to recognize her. But with every meeting, DJ finds herself secretly wondering what it would be like to take off her glasses, unpin her bun and reveal the inner vixen she’s been hiding from everyone-including herself.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to NetGalley & Harlequin Mira for an eARC of this book for review!

This was one of those books that I really, really wanted to love. I mean, obviously I’m a HUGE fan of reading and I love my local library — I even work in my local library! When I saw the cover for this book and read the synopsis about a librarian finding love, I thought I had a winner, but this book kind of dwindled for me.

My first gripe really lies with the idea of the librarian. I’m not sure why librarians in books are usually ALWAYS portrayed as dowdy and frumpy, but they so are not. I’ve been in my share of libraries and have met librarians. They have ALWAYS been super cool, trendy, and not under the idea that to be a librarian, one must be boring and drab. This irked me through MOST of the book.

My second gripe was with our main character’s name. D.J. How dull of a name is that? I mean, even her name that isn’t shorted, Dorothy, isn’t very exciting. I think this must have been chosen in order to add to the boring part of her character? At any rate, I kind of thought it was a terrible choice for a lead character’s name. And when it came to Dorothy as a character, I really couldn’t stand her. I thought I might be able to sympathize towards her library-loving character, but she was just very annoying throughout most of the book. I didn’t like that she was ALWAYS against the male lead, even though she had no reason to be like that.

The story really did have potential It had MAJOR potential for readers and library lovers to fall in love with it, but I felt that it was poorly executed. Not only that, but it was predictable and well, boring. There are also flashbacks throughout the book that really didn’t fit in with the story. Reading them felt a bit jarring and sometimes they were just unnecessary. Not only that, but the book ends a bit poorly. There’s no real build up of a climax and then BOOM we get a climax and it’s done. Very disappointing.

While I really wanted to love this one, it disappointed me. I wish it had been a lot more. Maybe I can hold out hope that one day we’ll have a perfect book that takes place in a library.

rating-2-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

8 thoughts on “[ARC] Review: Love Overdue by Pamela Morsi

  1. A lot of the librarians I’ve seen are fun and full of energy, especially when there’s a group of kids. I didn’t really like that she kept having to act like she was boring either.
    I agree that the ending sucked and i was really hoping for a whole lot more with this.

  2. Oy it seems like this one just didn’t work for you on many different levels. It doesn’t really sound like something I would be a fan of either, though I do have to say that when I first came on the page I “awww’ed” at the cover a bit. Sad that what was inside just didn’t work. Great review, Kristilyn!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

