Book Review: Pregnant Pause by Han Nolan

book reviewing-01

pregnant pauseTitle: Pregnant Pause
Author: Han Nolan
Date(s) read: July 25, 2013
Genre: YA Contemporary
Source: Publisher (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Nobody gets away with telling sixteen-year-old Eleanor Crowe what to do. But as a pregnant teen, her options are limited: move to Kenya with her missionary parents or marry the baby’s father and work at his family’s summer camp for overweight kids. She chooses marriage. A camp tragedy prompts a series of events that overwhelms Elly with difficult choices. Somehow, she must leverage her usual stubbornness to ensure a future for herself and her baby. A fascinating character study.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Sons for a copy of this for review!

Truth be told, I was very scared to start reading this story. I knew that the main character was young and pregnant and I knew that it would continue on PAST the pregnancy which meant that we’d probably get to know about the whole birthing process in some way. Being pregnant right now and slightly terrified of the whole “birthing” part of the whole thing, I knew that I better get this book read sooner rather than later.

Really, this book wasn’t that bad. It had its faults, of course, but for the most part, I did enjoy it. I guess it was nice that part of me could relate to Elly’s character being pregnant (especially the orange dress — one of her only maternity clothing items that still fit. I know this will be me come the end of my pregnancy …). I also really appreciated some of the relationships that took place in the story — especially that between Elly and some of the campers.

Where the story feel short for me, though, was that there was a LOT that happened. It made me think of when I read Push by Sapphire. It seemed that everything that could go wrong went wrong — like nothing good could happen (even if certain situations were spun to be good). There is a lot of serious stuff that happens and a lot of which I was uncomfortable with. There was also quite a bit that seemed unrealistic.

When it came to the characters, I think Elly’s character was the only one I really liked. It seemed that a lot of the older, more adult characters were the ones who behaved like children. Really stupid decisions were made and I felt like some of the characters who should know better were just so awful to Elly, in spite of her condition. I guess part of me really couldn’t see past the fact that even though she made a mistake, no one would say, “OK, I guess it’s been done. Now, what can we do to help?” Instead, the whole thing seemed so old-school, rather than set in a time where we should have a more open mind about things like this.

I’m not sure if I would have felt differently reading this had I not been pregnant, but it still seemed to be one of those stories that I thought I would like more than I did. A quick read (despite the fact that it seemed long in areas) but just a little too topsy-turvy for my taste.

rating-3-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Pregnant Pause by Han Nolan

  1. That’s kid of sad to see, I wanted to read this one. I have to agree that once it’s happened, there isn’t really much more that can be said except to help the poor teen. At least you liked the main character!

    Sucks that it seemed like everything that could go wrong, went wrong.

    Also, I’m thinking of reading a book called The Midwives Confession, have you read it?

    • I haven’t heard of that one! I’ll have to see if my library has it …

      It’s definitely a weird thing to read fictional books where people are pregnant when YOU are pregnant … I feel like I can relate to them so much more!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

