Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#2)

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

Good morning NaNoWriMo writers!

Did you catch my last update for NaNoWriMo last Sunday? You can read it here!
Also, be sure to read my motivational post Wait? What? It’s NANOWRIMO time! Gather the confetti!

Week Two Update: 

So last week, I ended off my NaNoWriMo writing with 14,003 words, which I thought was a huge head start. I didn’t know I’d actually continue the momentum and COMPLETE 50,000 words by the end of last night! It was a whirlwind of writing, partially prompted by a post on the Edmonton forum on the website about hitting 50,000 by midnight on November 9th. I saw it as a challenge. My original goal for the weekend was to hit 40,000, so this was big for me.

Now, the story still isn’t finished and already I know of HUGE plotholes and things that need to be fixed, but I’m hoping that by the end of this week the story will be done.

I think my fingers think this, too … they’re starting to hurt from all the typing!

Things I find inspiring: 

Last update, I shared with you my history with writing, and THIS update I want to share with you some of the things that have helped me along the way, be them new or old, but hopefully something that can also help you!

BOOKS:

Remember me? I love a good book. Even though I’ve only read a handful of writing books, I find them to be quite inspirational — so long as you have the right ones.

Some favourites of mine include:

on writing @wrimo

Stephen King’s book is AWESOME. I don’t read a lot of Stephen King, but I have read his stuff in the past and that man has an amazing imagination. The best thing about this book is that we get to actually talk to him on a personal level when it comes to writing. It’s not all, hey, I wrote a book, I’m done! There’s writing and rewriting and rewriting and rewriting. If you want to go the route of traditional publishing, you can expect lots of your stories to be scapped. It’s great to read a book by one of the greats and actually see struggle there. It’s not easy!

Kevin S. Kaiser’s book is one that I picked up LAST NaNoWriMo. It’s a short book and could be read in a day, but I really liked reading a little bit during each day of NaNo for inspiration (which is how I think you’re supposed to read it, since it’s broken down into 30 days). It has quotes and lots of great advice to just KEEP GOING.

PODCASTS: 

Colour me crazy, but I had actually never listened to a podcast until this year. I had heard of people listening to them in the car on their commute, but I had always been an audiobook or music kind of car-listening person, so I never thought to give them a try.

Podcasts are wonderful!

I did a bit of a search and downloaded some writerly podcasts and my favourites so far are:

NaNoWriPod
(run by Ben Alexander and Jim Markus)

I Should Be Writing
(run by Mur Lafferty)

The Narrative Breakdown
(run by Cheryl Klein and James Monohan)

What do you use for inspiration in your writing? Can you share some of the resources you’ve used in the past? 

signature-01

6 thoughts on “Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#2)

  1. Pingback: Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#3) | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: Update: NaNoWriMo2013 (#4) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

