The 7 Deadly Sins of Reading (Stolen from Marie at Ramblings of a Daydreamer)

When I read Marie’s post for the 7 Deadly Sins of Reading, I knew I had to participate! Not only did it look like fun, but it would allow me to look back in my history of book buying, reading, and all the fun stuff in between! This tag was originally created by BookTuber Malyza.

7-Deadly-Sins-of-Reading_zps14962605

GREED

What is your most expensive book? What is your most inexpensive book?

This is actually a REALLY hard question for me. I have a TON of books but I don’t think that there’s anything I’ve bought that was particularly expensive. I did buy a signed copy of Maureen Johnson’s The Madness Underneath, which cost about $36, but that’s not really that much. I have definitely contemplated buying a signed Neil Gaiman which is upwards of $100+ … but I haven’t done so yet.

And, as far as cheap books go, I buy lots of books from my library’s ongoing book sale for $0.25 each — or else I get a lot of freebies through Amazon and Kobo! You can’t get cheaper than free!

WRATH

What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

I like to think I have a love/hate relationship with Morgan Matson mainly because the things she writes makes me want to rip out my heart at times. But I also think of Neil Gaiman because I want to like EVERYTHING he does, because he is awesome, but some things are just too sci-fi or fantasy for me. I’ve also tried Stephen King PLENTY of times in the past but always seem to put his books aside. I’m not sure if it has to do with him being too wordy, the books being too big, or a combination of the two.

GLUTTONY

What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

I remember when Twilight came out, I read it about 4 or 5 times in a row, I loved it so much. Unfortunately, a reread years later made me hate the book, so I don’t think that’ll happen again. I do love City of Bones, the first in the Mortal Instruments series — I’ve read it about 3 times and have listened to the audiobook AND relistened to the audiobook after the (bad) movie came out. There’s also Coraline by Neil Gaiman (can you tell I like him, yet?) which I’ve read, reread, listened to on audio, read the graphic novel, have seen the movie …. and reread over Halloween. I just love it!

SLOTH

What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Oh gosh. SO MANY. I remember wanting to give The Count of Monte Cristo a try, opened up my paperback only to realize that it was the abridged version. I was appalled and immediately ordered the full version, which clocked in at a whopping 1,200+ pages. Naturally, it’s still sitting on my shelf, unread. I’ve also tried to read War & Peace, trying to read a chapter a night (which is TOTALLY doable), but I never seem to last past a week.

I also have lots of great-looking adult fiction (award winning fiction!) on my shelf, but I just feel like they’re going to be too dry, or full of too much detail, and just not exciting. I hope that I can one day get back into reading a wider range of books, but for now, I’ll be sticking with YA books, or stories that I know I’ll like and devour in a few days.

PRIDE

What book do you talk about most in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

I’m not sure if I try to sound like an intellectual reader … I mean, I read so many different genres, some of my favourites being Paranormal Romance, or YA, or horror. I always feel weird when I talk to someone about books and they only read Canadian Literature, or books that have won prizes, or books that are ONLY adult literature. I like to have fun reading erotica sometimes, or something totally cheesy and hilarious, or something that’s just incredibly light. Reading is supposed to be a FUN and ENJOYABLE thing that I feel like if we were to resort to reading only books that made us sound intellectual, we wouldn’t enjoy it as much.

LUST

What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

I definitely find relationships more attractive when it’s not the weak-female-hero-male dynamic. I love seeing a strong female, with a male who isn’t afraid to admit his faults. I like HUMOUR between the two and romance that isn’t just based on looks. One thing I do hate are the tortured characters we see a lot in new adult books. With those, it can be the tortured female, bad boy male and it’s just been done TOO much.

ENVY

What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

Well, I *do* have quite the collection of books piling up on my Amazon wishlist (*cough*hinthint*cough*), but there are some physical copies that I would LOVE to receive as a gift. I definitely have to say that that huge-ass Harry Potter gift set looks FANTASTIC. And I would love a the gift edition of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust — mainly because it’s just beautiful!

Speaking of Neil, I would love to be gifted some signed copies of books by my favourite authors … maybe a signed Neil Gaiman, or a signed Stephanie Perkins, or even a signed Jon Klassen.

What are some of YOUR reading sins?Β 

signature-01

14 thoughts on “The 7 Deadly Sins of Reading (Stolen from Marie at Ramblings of a Daydreamer)

  1. This is such a fun idea! My most expensive book is a behind the scenes look at the making of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (I’m a super fan) It’s a leather-bound portfolio thing that includes a book and illustrations/set maps/all sorts of assorted goodies relating to the show. It was $60 and I regret nothing.

    I’ve had Game of Thrones sitting on my shelf for about 2 years now. I have no excuse for not reading it (I love the show and my sister assures me I will love the books) but every time I consider picking it up I’m like ‘oh, just one more YA’ and the cycle of avoidance continues.

    • Ooh … that Buffy book sounds amazing! I’d love to have something like that on my shelf. I eye SO MANY books but then usually buy the cheaper versions of them … one day, though. πŸ˜‰

      Glad to see I’m not the only one in the cycle of avoidance!

  2. This was really cute! Haha I like Neil Gaiman too (Coraline is my favorite! The movie is one of my all time favorites too)! I have a copy of War and Peace sitting on my shelf too…haha
    I’m tempted to do this too! It’s got me thinking of what sins I’ve committed..

  3. I finished The Count of Monte Cristo, only to realize afterwards that the front cover said abridged. I was so disappointed though it did explain why it seemed like some chapters were referring to thing that hadn’t happened. So I’m in this weird limbo where I feel like I have and haven’t read it. One day I will read the full version! I may do this, I’ll add a link if I do.

  4. Glad I’m not the only one who has a hard time getting into most Stephen King books – reALLY want to like them but most of the I end up stopping midway. There’s only been a few I’ve really gotten into and enjoyed. I loved his The Eyes of the Dragon, it just has such a different feel from the other books of his I’ve read. I loved The Shining too. That’s about all I can think of though.. πŸ˜€

    • Yes. I’ve stopped midway in all of his books that I’ve read. The only exceptions have been On Writing (which is more of a nonfiction/memoir type book) and Full Dark No Stars (which was short stories). I do have The Shining, but I made it about 40 pages in before putting it down. I do want to read it, but just have to get the stamina to actually persevere through the reading!

  5. I bookmarked this AGES ago to comment on and then forgot so I’m glad you tweeted it! πŸ˜‰ I TOTALLY agree with your pride answer. Reading is supposed to be FUN. I couldn’t care less if people think I’m too old for YA or they think everyone should read a certain book/type of book…THEY’RE the closed-minded ones. I have a cousin who doesn’t even really enjoy reading that much but she chooses to read literary novels or massively huge books (like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy) and I’m like READ FUN BOOKS, who are you trying to impress?? Maybe she’d enjoy reading more if she picked lighter stuff. Anyway…great answers! I’d LOVE a book signed by Stephanie Perkins too btw. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh gosh, she must read fun books! I’m so glad that I’m out of the mindset that I have to read certain books because I’m a certain age. It feels so much freer to not limit myself! Let’s make a deal, if Stephanie comes to either of our cities, we’ll get a signed book for one another! πŸ˜‰

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

