ARC Review: Ruin (Summer in Winter, #1) by C. J. Scott

book reviewing-01

ruinTitle: Ruin
Series: Summer in Winter, #1
Author: C. J. Scott
Date(s) read: August 23, 2013
Genre: New Adult
Source: NetGalley (eARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Kate Bell isn’t perfect. Not even close. The things she got up to in college would cause her parents to fall off their pedestals in shock. Home for the summer vacation, Kate settles in for a long, boring break in the tiny backwater of Winter with folks who still treat her like she’s twelve.

Then Ben Parker arrives and suddenly Winter gets interesting. He’s hot, mysterious and good with his hands. Kate falls for him instantly, but her cop father warns her to stay away. But how can she stay away from someone as compelling as Ben? Someone who thinks she’s perfect just the way she is?

When Ben’s secrets catch up to him, not only is Kate’s heart in danger of being broken, but Ben’s entire future could be ruined.

RUIN is a new adult contemporary romance intended for mature readers. It contains strong language and sexual situations.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to NetGalley and C. J. Scott for an eCopy of this book for review!

Based on the cover alone, I wanted to like this book. I mean, hot guy? Ominous setting? It just seemed perfect. Unfortunately, this book fell short for me.

One of the big problems is that it is extremely rushed. We don’t get a lot of background story, it all just happens. There’s insta-lust and right off the bat a very unrealistic situation. I know that if I encountered a stranger fresh off the bus – hot or not – I wouldn’t immediately be lusting after him to stay in my home. There’s such a thing as background checks, something the main character should know since her dad is a cop and she wants to be a criminologist. It just seemed very unlike her character. Just because someone has “a sexy voice and polite manners” doesn’t mean they can’t be up to no good.

I also wasn’t the biggest fan of the dialogue. It seemed choppy in sections, and sometimes the interaction between Kate and Jane was just flat-out annoying. If I were the guy in question, I would probably be shooting them odd looks at their constant back and forth. Jane is probably the most annoying character of them all. I just couldn’t wrap my brain around her wanting to be a criminologist when she’s so whiny and against the fact that her dad wanted to make sure she was safe. There are too many times where she acts like a spoiled brat without realizing that she has parents who love her and want to keep her safe.

Another thing that drove me nuts is that there is a LOT of repetitiveness. Yes, we know the guy is polite. Yes, your dad could probably be more of a cop (but that’s a good thing). I just felt like I was reading the same things over and over again. And then there’s the “romance” part of the story. This is where I almost stopped reading. Female or male, if the other party is rejecting you, that doesn’t mean you go and climb on top of them telling them to be quiet so you can tell them why it’s a good idea. That’s just wrong.

I’m not sure how I managed to get through this book, but I did, and I can honestly say that it’s not one that I will be recommending to other bloggers – even if you’re a big fan of the NA genre.

rating-1-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

