Review: Requiem (Delirium, #3) by Lauren Oliver

book reviewing-01

requiemTitle: Requiem
Series: Delirium, #1
Author: Lauren Oliver
Date(s) read: August 25, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

my thoughts-01

I have a bit of a thing when it comes to series finale books. I desperately want to like them – no, LOVE them – that I think I have way too high expectations. With this series, I loved the first two books SO MUCH that I was so scared to read the last book in the series. So much so that I put it off for MONTHS.

I don’t even know where to start with this book. I liked parts of it, but for the most part, I didn’t like it. First of all, we have the main character, Lena. The last book ended with her and one boy and now there are TWO boys and it’s like Lena completely changed her character. I was MAD at her for this. I think Aylee says it best in her review when she says, “Oh, love triangles – why must you make assholes out of people?” Word.

One thing I did love with this book was Hana. Honestly, I didn’t expect her character to be a huge presence in this book, what with her being “fixed” and all, but I think her story was the better one in the book. With Lena, I felt like her story was the same story we got in Pandemonium.

And the biggest downfall of this book? The rushed ending. We don’t even get that many answers – if any – by the end of the story. It felt way too open-ended to be a series finale and I didn’t like the fact that it was left for the reader to make an assumption as to what might have happened. I needed closure!

While I still adore Lauren Oliver’s writing and intend to read her future books, this one disappointed me. I was expecting so much more, an EXPLOSIVE ending, and that just wasn’t what I got. Here’s hoping other fans of the series felt different.

rating-3-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

14 thoughts on “Review: Requiem (Delirium, #3) by Lauren Oliver

  1. I’ve been putting off reading this book, because I’m worried it won’t end the way I want lol. I’m sad that there’s going to be a love triangle, but the idea of Hana being in it more helps. I’ll hopefully read it in the new year!

  2. I agree with you completely on this – I thought Delirium was okay and really liked Pandemonium, but Requiem just wasn’t great at all. The ending was just really rushed and provided no answers at all, to the point where I actually went and checked online that there wasn’t another book due out!

  3. I feel like I am one of the few who actually really liked the ending, there were a few things about the book that disappointed me, but I think I really liked how Lena had grown over the series. Hana’s strong presence was a surprise to me, but I actually liked learning more about her situation. I know a lot of people were disappointed with this ending, but I truly didn’t mind it that much.

  4. The extra boy at the end of Pandemonium is definitely what has prevented me from picking up Requiem. I’m intrigued by the “non-ending” that so many people were angry about, but I just can’t take a love triangle D:

  5. I felt basically the same exact way about this book. I liked some stuff (particularly Hana’s chapters, which completely saved this book’s ass), but was mostly pretty disappointed, especially after having LOVED the previous two novels. Ugh. It’s so frustrating when authors drop the ball. But I still can’t wait to read other stuff by Oliver, as the Delirium series is the only thing of hers I’ve read so far.

    • It’s SO frustrating. I expected to love this book so much! Ah well … I do love her other stuff. I really recommend you try some of her other books! They’re all really good!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

