ARC Review: Cake by Lauren Dane

book reviewing-01

cakeTitle: Cake
Author:
Lauren Dane
Date(s) read:
August 23, 2013
Genre:
Contemporary Romance
Source:
Harlequin & NetGalley (eARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Dane comes the latest release from Cosmo Red-Hot Reads from Harlequin.

She won’t be satisfied with just one bite…

Art student-slash-bike messenger Wren Davis pursues what she wants. And what she wants now is Gregori Ivanov, rock star of the Seattle art scene. With his tattoos, piercings and sensual sneer, Gregori is the ultimate bad boy. Wren’s gotten to know the man beneath the body art, too—and it only makes her crave him more.

But Gregori loves women like he loves cake and champagne—intensely, but only for the moment. And after Wren experiences just how scorching sex with Gregori is, she’s determined to show him that just one taste won’t be enough…

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Harlequin & NetGalley for sending me an eARC of this book for review! 

It’s rare that I read a Harlequin romance (which is shocking because I do love a steamy romance!) but when I do, I always tell myself I should read more. I had an email from NetGalley promoting this book and two others and promptly pounced on this one because of the synopsis. Loved that one of the main characters was an artist – consider me sold!

For the most part, I loved this book. I enjoyed both of the characters – especially our Russian artist, Gregori. I loved how they came together and that it wasn’t insta-love of any kind – instead, Wren (gorgeous name!) had been delivering papers to him for about a year and they slowly started to fall for one another. It was perfect! I loved the chemistry between the two – it was sweet, sexy, and very real.

I also really loved how strong of a character Wren was. She wasn’t falling all over Gregori, but she had her own life, too. They were both artists – maybe not a good mix? – and were both very busy, but now they have to deal with the fact that they both like each other and now what? There was frustration, ultimatums – both of which made it a very realistic tale. I also really loved (in case you haven’t gotten that yet) Gregori. I mean, I fell for the artist bit right away, but I loved his look, with his mohawk and his tattoos. He wasn’t a “bad boy” per se, but he sure had the look down.

And of course, since it’s Harlequin, there were the sex scenes, which weren’t overdone, they were tasteful but not OVERLY tasteful. Wren and Gregori had such great chemistry that everything just worked so well.

This was a great short read that only took a few hours to soak in. I hope that the Harlequin imprint releases more stories like this because it was perfect for a lazy Friday afternoon!

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

