[Blog Tour] Review: Racing Savannah (Hundred Oaks, #4) by Miranda Kenneally

RacingSavannahTourBanner2

I’m so excited to be a part of the Racing Savannah Tour, hosted by Giselle over at Xpresso Book Tours. Miranda Kenneally has to be one of my favourite YA authors and this book is definitely a winner for me!

book reviewing-01

racing savannahTitle: Racing Savannah
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Series: Hundred Oaks, #4
Date(s) read: October 8 – 10, 2013
Genre: YA Contemporary
Source: Publisher / Book Tour (eARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

They’re from two different worlds.

He lives in the estate house, and she spends most of her time in the stables helping her father train horses. In fact, Savannah has always been much more comfortable around horses than boys. Especially boys like Jack Goodwin—cocky, popular and completely out of her league. She knows the rules: no mixing between the staff and the Goodwin family. But Jack has no such boundaries.

With her dream of becoming a horse jockey, Savannah isn’t exactly one to follow the rules either. She’s not going to let someone tell her a girl isn’t tough enough to race. Sure, it’s dangerous. Then again, so is dating Jack…

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Sourcebooks & Xpresso Book Tours for sending me an eARC of this book! 

I’m pretty sure that Miranda Kenneally now has my heart for ever and always. I may not have totally fallen for the previous book in this series, Things I Can’t Forget, but this book had me in love from the first pages.

I’ve had a thing with horses for QUITE some time. I’ve never owned a horse and I’ve only ridden one a handful of times in my life, but I just think they are so beautiful and so majestic. So it was inevitable that I would fall in love with Star, the troublesome horse, immediately. And Savannah! I loved her character as well as her determination to fight for her dreams to do what she wanted to do in life.

Speaking about characters, I love how Miranda Kenneally writes family situations. Savannah comes from a tough one, feeling like her dad remarried and started a whole new life with his new (pregnant) wife. In a way, she feels like an outsider to their perfect family. I totally felt for her for the entire story. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to not only have feelings like you don’t belong in your own family, feeling like you have to sacrifice your dreams for them, AND be living with a family as the help.

This story reminded me a bit of Joanna Philbin’s Rules of Summer, where the main character gets a job as a maid in a rich family’s home. Savannah isn’t a maid, but an exercise boy for the horses. But still, she’s still considered the help and therefore, not worthy of her crush, the family’s son, Jack.

I kind of loved Jack — what can I say? Miranda Kenneally is very good at characters. I liked how there were two sides to him, how he was a bit more complicated and not so easy to read by Savannah. I know there will be people who don’t see the connection between these two people, but I could see it. Jack showed more of a sensitive side around Savannah and I loved it. Yes, he was a bit tied down to his dad and the farm — also trying to make his family happy, just like Savannah — but throughout the story we see him and Savannah grow up, find their voice, and try to find their independence.

I felt like this story was perfect. Really, it had me at that gorgeous cover. It’s a story about determination, family, love, and following your dreams. Definitely a favourite for me.

rating-5-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON / BARNES & NOBLE

signature-01

7 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Review: Racing Savannah (Hundred Oaks, #4) by Miranda Kenneally

  1. Yes, yes yes!! This is the best book in the series so far! I absolutely loved it. I’ve also always had a love for horses and hope that someday I might be able to own one..lol

    The romance was definitely sweet and Jack was very sweet to Savannah. Such a great book! I can’t wait to see what Miranda Kenneally comes up with next!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

