ARC Review: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

book reviewing-01

the moon and moreTitle: The Moon and Me
Author:
Sarah Dessen
Date(s) read:
July 16 – 17, 2013
Genre:
YA contemporary
Source:
Penguin (ARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Penguin for sending me an ARC of this book! 

It’s no question that I love Sarah Dessen. Whenever she has a new book come out, I get very, very excited. Of course, having just gotten into Sarah’s work last year, this is the first time that I’ve really gotten to be excited about a new release – since I’ve been reading mostly her back catalogue lately.

I really liked this book. It was so great to visit the same place where we met Auden in Along for the Ride – she even makes a few appearances, which is great. It’s always nice visiting the places that other books take place in. I definitely could pick up on some of the people and places that I had met before and it was like meeting an old friend.

One thing that I’ve always loved in Sarah’s novels are her boys. Personally, Luke was a big favourite of mine and I wish that we could’ve seen more of him – I understand why we didn’t, but whenever he came on the page, it was nice to see him again! Theo was a different kind of character and I’ll admit that I felt like there was something off with him from the moment he and Emaline starting hanging out (or, in Theo’s eyes, having Big Moments).

I did really like how the story wasn’t about Emaline having a happily ever after with a boy, but it was more about her finding that happiness within herself. It’s always great (for me) to find romance in books, but I love it when the core of a story is really rooted in family and the journey of the main character. I think that one of Sarah Dessen’s strengths is writing about real family situations that people can relate to.

This might not have been my favourite Sarah Dessen novel, but it’s definitely up there – and I can say for sure that I will be among the masses of people bouncing off the walls when her next novel is announced!

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

  1. I’m glad you liked it! I had a hard time getting into this book, so I put it ended up putting it down. I’m going to try again at some point though, because I love this author’s books.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

