Review: The First Star to Fall (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1.5) by Diana Peterfreund

book reviewing-01

the first star to fallTitle: The First Star to Fall
Author:
Diana Peterfreund
Series:
For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1.5
Date(s) read
: August 21, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopia
Source: Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Discover how it all began…

New Pacifica was designed to be a tropical paradise, a refuge for humanity filled with natural wonders and technological marvels. A place of perfect peace, where “war” was only a war out of ancient history–or so the privileged teenage aristocrat Persis Blake had always been taught.
But then comes the revolution and the death of a queen, and suddenly it’s no longer enough for Persis to trust the words of her parents, the lessons of her teachers, and the decrees of the men in power.

One terrible night, Persis witnesses the truth: there are those who will stop at nothing to destroy her world… but is there anyone who could save it?

my thoughts-01

Being a huge fan of Diana Peterfreund’s book For Darkness Shows the Stars, I’ve been very intrigued to try more of her writing. Seeing as this story is part of that particular series, I thought I’d give it a try.

This story is very different from FDStS. This is one of those “before” stories and I think it’s to coincide more with the second book in the series, Across a Star-Swept Sea. It was a little difficult getting into it, after I had invested myself in the characters from the first book, but it was still a good read. In this story we meet Persis, who is a teenage aristo, on the cusp of a revolution.

One thing that holds me back from saying it was completely excellent is that it was slightly confusing. It took me a few pages to get into it – until the revolution part – and even then I wondered what was going on. It might be because this book contains none of the familiar characters I had met in previous books of the series, but I do have hopes that Persis’s full-length story pulls me in a little more.

I am very interested to continue on with her story in Across a Star-Swept Sea.

rating-3-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

4 thoughts on “Review: The First Star to Fall (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1.5) by Diana Peterfreund

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

