Review: Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

book reviewing-01

imaginary girlsTitle: Imaginary Girls
Author: Nova Ren Suma
Date(s) read: September 4 – 6, 2013
Genre: YA Paranormal
Source: Purchased (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Chloe’s older sister, Ruby, is the girl everyone looks to and longs for, who can’t be contained or caged. When a night with Ruby’s friends goes horribly wrong and Chloe discovers the body of her classmate London Hayes left floating in the reservoir, Chloe is sent away from town and away from Ruby. But Ruby will do anything to get her sister back, and when Chloe returns to town two years later, deadly surprises await. As Chloe flirts with the truth that Ruby has deeply hidden away, the fragile line between life and death is redrawn by the complex bonds of sisterhood.

my thoughts-01

Book recommendations for me can be hit or miss. There’s this one blogger in particular who has the complete opposite taste from me when it comes to reading, yet she reads books that look sooooo interesting that I can’t help but give them a try. Once in a blue moon I end up liking the book, and other times I end up hating it.

Like this time.

I tried so hard to like this book. From the cover, it looked super spooky .The premise sounded creepy as hell. But where the author failed me was making it too slow, too boring, and giving me characters I could care less about.

Like Ruby. For about the first 50 pages or so (and for quite a good portion of the book), we’re told how amazing Ruby is, how pretty she is, how everyone would do anything for her, etc. But I didn’t like Ruby. It’s like after all this build up of her character, I could really take or leave her. And I kind of hated Chloe’s character for talking Ruby up SO MUCH that it was a disappointment for me. I’m not sure if it was because they were sisters that she seemed to abandon her own self, but it bugged me.

By the end of the story, I felt very confused. I wasn’t entirely too sure what was supposed to be going on for MOST of the story and Ruby was just so strange that I had no idea what the explanation for her character could possibly be. I wanted something amazing, something borderline supernatural, but it just kind of fizzled for me. Maybe I was expecting more of a wow-factor when it came to the buried town of Olive, but I just got a lot of description (mainly about the awesomeness of Ruby) and couldn’t find myself to care by the final pages.

I do have one other Nova Ren Suma book in my collection, Dani Noir, and I hope that I like it better. Without a doubt, she can string beautiful sentences together, but this book just didn’t do it for me.

rating-1-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTERGOODREADS

signature-01

12 thoughts on “Review: Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

  1. I picked this up after someone told me it would be good for Twin Peaks fans (which I love) but I couldn’t even make it halfway. Glad I’m not the only one who didn’t care for it

  2. It’s always a shame when beautiful covers hold disapointing books, *sigh* I’ll just admire the cover from afar, it is pretty spooky looking, love her green eyes!

  3. Too bad this recommendation didn’t work for you.It’s definitely annoying when characters/authors go on and on about how perfect a character is, but you just can’t see it at all. Hopefully you enjoy the other book better!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

