Review: Dragon Bound (Elder Races, #1) by Thea Harrison

book reviewing-01

dragon boundTitle: Dragon Bound
Series: Elder Races, #1
Author:
Thea Harrison
Date(s) read
: October 6 – 10, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: Library (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Half-human and half-Wyr, Pia Giovanni spent her life keeping a low profile among the Wyrkind and avoiding the continuing conflict between them and their Dark Fae enemies. But after being blackmailed into stealing a coin from the hoard of a dragon, Pia finds herself targeted by one of the most powerful—and passionate—of the Elder Races.

As the most feared and respected of the Wyrkind, Dragos Cuelebre cannot believe someone had the audacity to steal from him, much less succeed. And when he catches the thief, Dragos spares her life, claiming her as his own to further explore the desire they’ve ignited in each other.

Pia knows she must repay Dragos for her trespass, but refuses to become his slave—although she cannot deny wanting him, body and soul.

my thoughts-01

This is a hard review to write. The thing is, I love paranormal romance books, for the most part, but this book just didn’t cut it for me. I had actually read it because local book blogger Rick, from Another Book Blog, planned to do a read-along for it after I insisted he read a paranormal romance novel. It’s funny because, seeing as I was the one who was familiar with the genre, I expected to actually really enjoy the story, whereas Rick expected it to be awful.

Let’s just say my expectations were a bit far-reached. Right off the bat I thought it could be an okay story. The main character, Pia, seemed like a strong female and I liked the world she was currently in, but then the story starts to fall. We meet Dragos, the supposed-love interest of Pia, and that’s about the time I started to get irritated.

Now, personally, I love a good male lead in a story, but I want a swoon-worthy character and someone who has more than one side to them. My ultimate favourite is having a strong female and a strong male and them both uncovering the more sensitive sides to one another in a fun and flirty kind of way. This really doesn’t happen in this story — at least, I didn’t see it. Dragos is such a hard, demanding character, and just a bit too much of a dominant to make me like him. Really, his character is one of those male leads who seem a little too aggressive to fall in love with, almost bordering on being abusive towards the female lead.

The female lead, on the other hand, while starting out strong and interesting, loses that part of her character somewhere along the way. I guess I kind of expected Pia to be somewhat like Kat from the Night Huntress series, but Pia eventually gets to be weepy and a little too submissive. Definitely not something I like in my female characters. There’s also a point along the way where it’s like she stops questioning anything and just goes with the flow whereas I wanted her to be strong and fight.

The story really was just okay for me. There was a lot of cheese and a lot of bad lines. The editing was a bit shoddy in places, almost to the point of distracting from the story. The characters I wanted more of weren’t really there at all and I finished it with a sour taste in my mouth. I’m happy to have read this book, seeing as lots of people really love it, but it’s just not the paranormal romance book for me, unfortunately.

rating-1-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

8 thoughts on “Review: Dragon Bound (Elder Races, #1) by Thea Harrison

    • Ha ha … I couldn’t refrain from some of my updates on Goodreads or Twitter. Though, lots of people LOVE these books. I’d say if you want to give it a go, get it from the library.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

