Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2) by Michelle Hodkin

book reviewing-01

the evolution of mara dyerTitle: The Evolution of Mara Dyer
Series:
Mara Dyer, #2
Genre: YA Paranormal
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.
She can’t.

She used to think her problems were all in her head.
They aren’t.

She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets.
She’s wrong.

In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

my thoughts-01

First things first, this book took me a LONG time to get through. I’m not sure what it was about the book because when I did sit down to read it, I did enjoy it, but I just didn’t have a huge desire to pick it up and read it straight through. I kind of had to force my way through this one.

For a second book in a trilogy, this book reads kind of like a second book. Not a LOT happens, but stuff does happen, and we’re left with very few answers by the end of the story, which really sucked. I mean, the story was well written (even if there were large chunks that could have been left out — I mean, this book is over 500 pages!), but when you leave your readers hanging after book one, readers expect some answers by the end of book two and I’m really not sure that we got that.

Then there are the characters. Yes, Noah is less Edward-y in this book, but he always seemed to be Mara’s saving grace. Whenever she was in trouble, he was there to help. I get that they were attached to the hip and all, but I wanted Mara to exhibit some kind of strength all on her own without Noah. There’s also Mara’s parents who I refuse to believe would just blindly throw Mara into whatever program is recommended to them without any research whatsoever — with Mara’s mother being a psychologist herself, I would think she’d have her own idea of a good place for her daughter, but she really doesn’t show a lot of strength (especially when it comes to her profession), either.

I did really enjoy Mara and her brothers — Daniel, especially. He was an AWESOME brother. We don’t get as much of Joshua in this story as we did in the first book, and Mara’s dad really isn’t around at all, but I do love the family dynamic when it’s there (even if her mother doesn’t have as strong of a role as I wanted her to).

The book definitely has its scary aspects, I’ll give it that. There was a lot of mindfuckery going on and times where I had no idea what the heck was happening. And I was really not a fan of the ending. For me, it seemed too much like a cop out and could’ve been so much better.

Will I continue with the series? Well, I’ve invested my time in the first two books and am hoping that this one ENDS as a trilogy — if it does, then I’ll probably read the last one. I just didn’t find myself as interested in this book as I did the first one.

rating-3-01

Author Links

WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2) by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Aww, I remember really enjoying this one. And the ending left me wanting more. I’ll definitely be reading the next book because I want to know what happens..lol

    I do agree thought that her parents probably wouldn’t have just blindly put her in a program. Her dad is a lawyer and her mom is a psychologist. So much mindfuckery though and definitely moments where I was wondering what the hell happened. but I think I liked it more because of it..lol

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

