December

december recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

December! I’d like to say that this past month has been completely relaxing, but what with having baby Reading in Winter at the end of November, it’s been anything but! Little boy was admitted to the NICU just 8 days after his birth for jaundice and we spent 4 days in the hospital. I was a bit of a mess, but he came out beautifully … he was such a good boy the whole time!

Baby Reading in Winter & Mommy Reading In Winter

After that we had one whole weekend with just us and then my husband had to go back to work — straight through until the holidays, so no more weekends or anything. I’d like to say that baby continued to let me sleep in the night and that I wasn’t slightly frazzled, but I’d be lying. I already had broken sleep before baby, but his schedule was all over the place at night … sometimes 3-4 hour stretches, sometimes 1.5-2 hour stretches. But we managed. It’s still such a surreal thing that he’s in our life right now. It’s hard to imagine life without him!

When it comes to books and blogging, I have been reading on and off, but I did get a bit addicted to TV this month, catching up on my TV shows and getting addicted to new ones like Homeland and Grimm (two that hubs watches but I never got into at the time). I do have the time to read, but I just liked being lazy this month when I had the time to do so. Oh, and Christmas movies! I tried to get in those when I had the chance! And when it came to reading, me and the little boy read a lot. I bought him a box set of Christmas books, which we read through, as well as some of the selection from his vast library. 🙂

20131226_141544

Now, at the end of December, my little guy is 5 weeks old! I can’t believe how fast time is flying by! Already I’m thinking about 2014 and what I want my reading goals to me. I’m thinking I’m going to be much more relaxed than I’ve been in previous years and read whatever I want, whenever I want (or, whenever my boy will let me! Gotta have time for snuggles, too!). In fact, I’m even thinking of tackling books like War and Peace and The Count of Monte Cristo. YES.

books read-01

December wasn’t too horrible for books and reading!

  1. Snowed Over by Angie Stanton
  2. Let Me Off at the Top by Ron Burgundy
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
  4. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West
  5. The Summer Before Boys by Nora Raleigh Baskin
  6. Omens (Cainsville, #1) by Kelley Armstrong
  7. Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer
  8. Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen
  9. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

I know it’s nothing compared to other months, but I’m happy with the progress! Like I said, I’ve been watching a ton more TV this month AND have my new little boy AND hubs has been home quite a bit … I guess we’ll see how it goes in the new year! Along with what’s listed above, I’m also rereading Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. AGAIN. I know. It’s an addiction.

2013 Stats

In 2013, I read 240 books (Goodreads doesn’t count some of my reread, which I find annoying). Compared with 258 in 2012, I think that’s not too shabby — especially considering the new member of my family that came at the end of November! The total number of pages according to Goodreads was 58, 650 pages! (I’m sure this number is off somehow, but still. That’s a lot of pages!)

I had a LOT of 5-star ratings, which was a good thing. Surprisingly, I had 5 1-star ratings.

My FAVOURITE reads of the year include Golden by Jessi Kirbi, Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin, #2) by Robin LaFevers, and the Spindle Cove series by Tessa Dare.

Looking ahead to 2014 … 

I’ve been thinking a lot about my bookish goals for 2014 and thought I’d list some of them here. With it being the last day of 2013 I can only hope to get as many books read as this year, but I know that’s a VERY lofty goal. Here’s what I’ve worked out:

  1. Read 52 books. I really, really wanted to set this to 104 books, thinking 2 a week is doable, but we’ll see how the first half of the year goes. Right now, my little boy can sleep and sleep during his naps, but I know that will change.
  2. Pay more attention to what I’m reading. I have SO MANY books on my shelves that have been neglected and I want to remedy this. I also want to keep track of authors (male? female?) as well as the country the book is from.
  3. Read more adult literature. No, I’m not thinking *adult* literature (winkwink), but just more grown up books. I’ve read a LOT of YA in the past few years and have some really great adult titles on my shelves. I need to get back into reading them!
  4. Think about what I want to do when it comes to blogging. I’m a bit of a crazy person and have 2014 planned out already. 2014 will be the year I think about 2015 and what I want to accomplish blogging. Do I want to keep doing a lot of reviews? Discussions? Do I want to post every day (something that won’t happen in 2014)? Do I want to have more of an informal presence on my blog? I shall see in 2014! While not a lot of new stuff (to me, at least) will go up in 2014, I want to talk more with book lovers and whatnot.
  5. Read the books, but make lots of room for family, too. Yes, I may read Goodnight Moon and Guess How Much I Love You on a daily basis, and that’s not going to change. What will change is my old ways of reading a book a day. Priorities will go towards my little boy as well as spending time with my hubs and really working on our family unit. Books will always be in my life, but there will be days they’ll take a back seat. THIS IS OKAY.

All I can really say about 2014 is that I’m going to SLOW DOWN when it comes to reading and try and read more of what’s on my shelf than getting the latest and greatest and reading what everyone else is reading. I want to get back into that mindspace I was in BEFORE I really started blogging and just reading what I want, when I want, whether it takes a day or a week or a month.

And in other bookish news, you can sign up for the 2014 Book Bingo Challenge! It’s a new year, which means a new board. I’m really, really happy with this board, too. Sign up here!

Here’s to a new year!

mailbox goodies-01

No books in the mail, but this month I bought FIVE books. I know, right?!? Remember the days when I’d buy tons of books in one week? Well, let’s just say that I’ve declared it my mission to read what’s on my shelf. It’s considerably harder since it’s easier to read on my ereader and not a physical book, but I’m managing.

Here’s what I bought this month:

the rosie project the aviator's wife hyperbole and a half christmas stories ashes to ashes

  1. Everyone is talking about The Rosie Project! I’m thinking this one will be one of my first reads in 2014 — I can’t wait!
  2. I saw The Aviator’s Wife at Safeway just this past week and remembered it was one of the top-voted books for 2013 on Goodreads. I love a good historical, so I thought I’d check it out.
  3. I remember seeing Hyperbole and a Half on Sarah Says Read‘s blog. Seeing it at Wal-Mart, I picked it up (though I was kind of ticked off that Wal-Mart no longer offers all their new books for 40% off. Not buying books from there anymore!).
  4. Christmas Stories is a book I saw on Laura’s blog, Reading In Bed. I thought it was so pretty that I had to buy a copy for myself!
  5. I can’t believe that the Experiment in Terror series is almost over! Ashes to Ashes is the second last book and I’m already sad. Putting off reading this one because of it.

Surprisingly, four of these books are physical books, even though I’m finding it easiest to read on my ereader with my little guy. Hopefully I can work in some physical books during naps.

I also won a $25 gift card to Chapters/Indigo from my work’s Christmas party! That made me very excited! Not sure what I’ll get with it yet, but I love bookish gift cards. 🙂

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

26 thoughts on “December

  1. Congratulations on the new little’un! How wonderful! Glad to hear he came through NICU ok. Our youngest spent some time there … and she’s 10 now. Happy New Year to you and yours!

  2. Congratulations, a favourite read-aloud when my children were small: “Mother, Mother, I want Another” by Maria Robbins. Lots of repetition which they love.

  3. Oh my goodness, what an adorable baby! SOOOOO CUTE.

    Also, your goals rock. Family is important so it’s super that you are prioritizing that. I think some of us lose sight of that when we are so hyper focused on blogging.

    Also, 9 books is a huge number of books for the month, given all that you had going on.

    Happy New Year!

    • Thank you, April! 🙂 You’re right, it’s so easy to lose sight of a LOT of things when it comes to blogging. It’s definitely a hobby I love to do, but I do have to remain focused.

      Happy New Year to you, too!

  4. He is so cute! ..lol You still got a lot more reading done that I ever do in a month..lol

    Your goals for the new year look reasonable 🙂 Kailyn luckily slept a lot at first, so it was a very gradual change to her not sleeping much. She didn’t do so well with the sleeping from 6 months on, for about a year.. I was pretty much a zombie, hopefully you’ll get lucky and he’ll be a good sleeper 🙂

    • I’m very lucky to have such a good little boy who loves to nap! Meanwhile, I’m a terrible napper, so reading it is. 🙂 And feeding baby takes a LOT of time. Tnank goodness for ereaders!

  5. Aww, look at you and baby boy, congrats again Kristilyn 🙂

    I think slowing down and enjoying your books with your family is a great goal, change for you. Once you are in your groove, you will be surprised how many books you can still read, I give you 100 for sure.

    • Thanks, Marce!

      I’m *thinking* I could hit 100 but I feel like if I put the number there I’d jinx myself. I’d rather try and leave the pressure off and just enjoy reading.

  6. He is absolutely adorable. You’re so lucky. I’m amazed you got to read so much in December, well done. You must have taken every possible opportunity!
    The Rosie Project is great, such a funny and clever book. Your goals look great, enjoy the ‘adult’ books 😉

    • Actually, there were so many more opportunities to read but I decided to do other things instead. I’m lucky that my boy loves his afternoon naps. 🙂

      I’m really enjoying The Rosie Project! It is very cute!

  7. You had an amazing December, Kristilyn! And wow! You certainly read a lot of books this year, I’m definitely impressed! 😀 And LO is adorable! I’m so glad that you are both doing so well, and by the sounds of it he already has a pretty awesome library of his own. 😉 haha

    Just have to say that I absolutely love Grimm, too! I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I got totally addicted to Doctor Who last week…and am now starting season 4. 😛 Pretty soon I’ll be all caught up! It really is detrimental to your reading when you get addicted to a new show though. 😛

    Also, I was so ticked off when I found out Walmart stopped having 40%, too…now it’s only on select titles. It sucks…it was such a good deal to get books from there before. 😛

    Looking forward to seeing both you and LO at the Christmas meetup! 😀

    • YAY! I’m so excited that you’re watching Doctor Who!!!! I watched the two recent specials over the holidays and can’t wait for the next season to start …

      The WalMart thing SUCKS. At least Safeway still does it. I rarely go to WalMart except for the books, but I buy groceries from Safeway, so I’ll get my books from there! Less selection, but I don’t need to buy ALL the books, do I? (or do I?)

      Looking forward to seeing everyone at the meetup!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

