Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

books-reviews-button-01

someday someday maybeTitle: Someday, Someday, Maybe
Author:
Lauren Graham
Genre:
Contemporary
Source:
Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

A charming and laugh-out-loud novel by Lauren Graham, beloved star of Parenthood and Gilmore Girls, about an aspiring actress trying to make it in mid-nineties New York City.

Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates-Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material-and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works.

Meanwhile, she dreams of doing “important” work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It’s hard to tell if she’ll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won’t call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is a funny and charming debut about finding yourself, finding love, and, most difficult of all, finding an acting job.

my thoughts-01

When it came time to write my thoughts about this book, I was at a complete loss. I love Lauren Graham, what with Gilmore Girls and Parenthood being two of my favourite TV shows. Naturally, when I learned she was releasing a book, I knew I had to read it. Actually, I had told myself I wasn’t going to buy any more books, but when this one was released, I immediately snatched up an eCopy of it. I’m so happy I did!

Honestly, I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book. Was I going to love it? Hate it? Would I like the characters? Can Lauren Graham actually write? I was happy that once the book finished, I really wanted more. I loved the book, loved the characters, and yes, Lauren Graham can write. When it comes to actors writing books, it really can be hit or miss.

While it’s not one of those books that completely stands out from the rest, nor is it a literary classic, it’s just one of those books that sucks you in from page one and is perfect for one of those summer days when you’re looking for something fun and light to read. I loved that the book is about Frannie, a wannabe actress — I feel like there aren’t a lot of books out there (that I’ve heard of, at least) about wannabe actors or actresses. It was fun to experience that kind of life. I also really liked the New York setting. Honestly, I’ve never had any desire to visit the city, but whenever I watch shows that take place in it, I dream about it just a little.

I really hope that Lauren writes more books in the future. I feel like she really has a knack for it!

rating-5-01

Author Links
TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

16 thoughts on “Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

  1. So glad you loved this! I’ve wanted to read this ever since I heard Lauren Graham had a book releasing. I’ve been wanting to expand my tastes by reading some non-YA and this sounds perfect! I will have to grab myself a copy soon!

  2. I am so glad that you loved this one!!! 😀
    I’ve been wanting to read it ever since I heard that Lauren Graham was writing and book, and it definitely sounds like it’s a good one!

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Kristilyn! 😀

  3. I’ve heard that there’s going to be a sequel to this one! Or at least a companion novel. I really enjoyed this two, mostly because it was so relatable. As someone who’s trying to find her way in NYC, I resonated with Frannie even though we’re on two totally different career paths. Glad you liked it!

  4. Oh, so glad to hear this book was good! (I had reservations about it too!) I’m glad you reviewed this – I had totally forgotten about this book until now, but I do really want to read it. I agree – there’s a lot of good books out there that don’t necessarily “stand out”, but are still a pleasure to read. Thanks for reminding me about this book 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

