Review: 13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelopes, #1) by Maureen Johnson

books-reviews-button-01

13 little blue envelopesTitle: 13 Little Blue Envelopes
Series: Little Blue Envelopes, #1
Author:
Maureen Johnson
Genre:
YA comtemporary
Source:
Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

When Ginny receives thirteen little blue envelopes and instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she knows something exciting is going to happen. What Ginny doesn’t know is that she will have the adventure of her life and it will change her in more ways than one. Life and love are waiting for her across the Atlantic, and the thirteen little blue envelopes are the key to finding them in this funny, romantic, heartbreaking novel.

my thoughts-01

I love, love, love Maureen Johnson. I’ve only read a handful of her books so far, but with each one I finish with such a happy feeling. This one was no different — I had heard that this series was fantastic, so I knew I had to give it a go.

One thing that I really like are stories with journeys or traveling. This story combined both. I loved that there was a bit of mystery to Ginny’s travels, with her not knowing where her travels would take her and with not knowing everything about her aunt who set up the journey. Personally, I know that I would NOT be a good candidate for something like this, since I’m a terrible traveler.

It was really a fun read. I loved all the places that Ginny traveled to, the people she met, and the letters she received from her aunt. The only real thing that I feel like critisizing is that Ginny is so young and it just seems wrong for her to be traveling alone to all these different places — and all of the places seem to be painted in such a positive light, when you know that it might not be as easy as she had it.

But, even with my complaint, it was a super fun book and I always get a feeling of wanderlust when I read a story like this. When I finished, I knew I had to get my hands on the second story in the series to get the rest of the story. I can’t wait to give it a try. And I also can’t wait to read more by Maureen — her books always make me happy and I’m glad to see that she has quite the catalogue of books already.

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

4 thoughts on “Review: 13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelopes, #1) by Maureen Johnson

  1. Whenever I read travel books, they just make me want to travel around the world and I can’t focus on anything else. Like the book I’m reading now makes me want to be a flight attendant.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

