Making Music @ Reading In Winter (1)

As most of you know, music is a HUGE part of my life. I’ve been making it since I was in high school when I fell in love with the piano and instantly started recording through a high-tech system of piano–>microphone–>karaoke machine. I’d layer on vocals and background vocals and other sounds on the keyboard and absolutely LOVED every second of it. After that I was in the International Music Academy in the city, took music for my major in university, and performed in and around the city. Over the past few years I may have stopped performing live, but I never stop making music. I’ve had websites before but never maintained them and recently realized that the one thing I want to do is just SHARE my music with people. So that’s what I’m going to do here!

making music-01

I’m going to aim for every week, but it might be every other week (I do have a little one to take care of!). Some may be new songs — something I’m hoping to start working on again this year — but for now I want to start sharing some of the back catalogue of what I’ve made. Maybe I’ll start recording videos of them again and share those, too. WHO KNOWS.

Are these bookish songs? Usually not. But with my priorities changing with the birth of my son, I figured I can start adding in some more personal touches to this blog. Yes, it will always focus on books, but I think adding in a splash of other things wouldn’t hurt, right? 🙂

First song up is one I wrote a few years ago called ‘Time Machine.’

Set the date, set the time
Pick anywhere you like
Past mistakes will be erased
If you go back far enough
Model airplanes, model cars
They’re no match for this
You can go anywhere, anywhere you like

Everyone has something they want
And everyone has something that they want to hide
We’re building a time machine

By the dollar, by the dime
Set the price
You’ll make a killing with every shilling
If you’re willing to bring them back
To let them go — play this right
‘Cause it’s a game, it’s a show
And everyone will know

Everyone has something they want
Everyone has something that they want to hide
That they want to hide
We’re building a time machine

You can go anywhere, anywhere you like

Copyright © 2014, Kristilyn Robertson. All rights reserved.

Here’s a video I recorded of the song back in 2012. (Like my stuff? You can buy some of it at CDBaby.com or on Apple iTunes.)

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Making Music @ Reading In Winter (1)

  1. I’m also so jealous of musically talented folks. I can play the piano after years of lessons, but I’ve never felt like I had any natural talent and my ear is aftually pretty terrible. But I know your stuff sounds good!

    • Thanks, Megan! It’s funny … my ear is great, but I’m TERRIBLE at sight-reading. My musical best friend who was also taking music in university with me cringes when she asks me to sight-read through something.

  2. Pingback: Book Bloggery Week-in-Review (44)

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

