Unfinished Books (#4)

books-reviews-button-01

a study in scarletA Study in Scarlet (Sherlock Holmes Graphic Novels Adaptation, #2) by Ian Edginton (adapter) and I.N.J. Culbard (illustrator)

Synopsis:
After the success of their other Illustrated Classics editions, Ian Edginton and I.N.J. Culbard have once again teamed up. This time, they’ve created a visually compelling graphic novel adaptation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s masterpiece A Study in Scarlet—which introduced the world to the immortal detective Sherlock Holmes and his friend and chronicler, Dr. Watson.

The superb writing and beautiful art takes Conan Doyle’s supernatural tale to new heights.

My Thoughts:
As with most stories that I end up DNF-ing, I really wanted to like this one. I had read the original story by Arthur Conan Doyle, so I thought the graphic novel would be a lot of fun. Unfortunately, it really didn’t add a lot to the story. The illustrations seemed to drag together and the story was just … told. There was nothing really spectacular about this one. Personally, I think the best way to read this book is to READ it, as in reading the original. The pacing just works in the original, as do the descriptions and characters.

419419 by Will Ferguson

Synopsis:
A car tumbles down a snowy ravine. Accident or suicide?

On the other side of the world, a young woman walks out of a sandstorm in sub-Saharan Africa. In the labyrinth of the Niger Delta, a young boy learns to survive by navigating through the gas flares and oil spills of a ruined landscape. In the seething heat of Lagos City, a criminal cartel scours the internet looking for victims.

Lives intersect, worlds collide, a family falls apart. And it all begins with a single email: “Dear Sir, I am the son of an exiled Nigerian diplomat, and I need your help …”

419 takes readers behind the scene of the world’s most insidious internet scam. When Laura’s father gets caught up in one such swindle and pays with his life, she is forced to leave the comfort of North America to make a journey deep into the dangerous back streets and alleyways of the Lagos underworld to confront her father’s killer. What she finds there will change her life forever…

My Thoughts:
Will Ferguson is a well-loved Canadian author. I have a few of his more humourous books and was hoping to really get into this one, a story based on one of those scam emails you may have seen in your inbox. While that one story intrigued me, a lot of the book tends to go off to other stories in other parts of the world which just didn’t catch my interest. I think my lack of interest was because these other stories had a LOT of descriptions and not much else. The chapter length varied, but I’d hit one of these long descriptive chapters that just seemed to go on forever, when I really wanted to get back to the family who fell for the scheme. Maybe I just didn’t get the novel, but when I found myself not wanting to pick the story back up again, I decide enough was enough.

deadlyDeadly Appearances (A Joanne Kilbourn mystery, #1) by Gail Bowen

Synopsis: 
Andy Boychuk is a successful Saskatchewan politician – until one sweltering August afternoon when the party faithful gather at a picnic. All of the key people in Boychuk’s life – family, friends, enemies – are there. Boychuk steps up to the podium to make a speech, takes a sip of water, and drops dead. Joanne Kilbourn, in her début as Canada’s leading amateur sleuth, is soon on the case, delving into Boychuk’s history. What she finds are a Bible college that’s too good to be true, a woman with a horrifying and secret past, and a murderer who’s about to strike again.

My Thoughts:
I was very excited to read this one, seeing as I had read book number seven in this series and liking it, but I got a ways in and found myself kind of bored by the political plot. I’m not really someone who likes reading books that deal with politics a lot, so I found that I was forcing myself to pick it up and read it. This makes me sad because I have met Gail Bowen and she is a lovely, lovely person — AND, like I said, I liked another book in this series. This is a pretty long series and I had managed to pick up quite a few books from the used bookstore, which I’m not sure if I’ll get to or not, unfortunately. If you do like Canadian political mysteries, maybe this book would be for you. Gail Bowen does know how to write, but this book just wasn’t for me.

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Unfinished Books (#4)

  1. I’ve wondered about 419, but something about it doesn’t appeal to me, so I will probably just continue to stay away! I’m another one who doesn’t like political thrillers. I get confused easily 🙂 Has to be REALLY well written and have other things going for it for me to like it.

    • I love the idea of it, but it just dragged in parts … a lot of people really loved it, though, so I would say at least try. You never know — you might love it! Just get it from the library first. And political books don’t do it for me. Neither do political shows. It took me YEARS to sit down and watch Homeland and that was really only because I love the actors.

  2. My eyes glazed over at “political thriller” haha!

    That’s too bad about 419…I’ve heard good things about it, but I didn’t realize it was more than one “story”…I agree how with those types of novels, sometimes not all the stories are as interesting at the main one. I hate when I want the author to just get back to the original story. I didn’t DNF it (I persevered even though it was painful at times!), but Wally Lamb’s, The Hour I First Believed was like that for me. The parts where he’s reading letters after letters was soooo boring. But I was so worried I would miss something that contributed to the main story if I skipped them all together.

    Also, differing chapter lengths drive me crazy! I like consistency, although I prefer all chapters to just be short 😉

    • I had heard lots of really good things about 419, too, as well as Will Ferguson! I think I expected it to be something completely different. Usually I don’t DNF a book — I’ll skim through it to at least see how it goes — but sometimes there are those books where I just don’t care. Ha ha …

      Short chapters are awesome. Especially because I like to have a definite break when I put down a book, whether it be a chapter break or a break within the chapter. If it’s mid-sentence or mid-paragraph, I have no idea where I left off!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

