January

january recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

Oh, January! How are you gone already? I need this year to slow down!

While December was a month of getting to know our new little third person in the house — a little, brand new person! — January was a month of trying to get into habits and routines. My little man turned 2 months old on January 26th and I still can’t get over the amount of love I feel for this little human. He is just amazing every single day! This month we had a brief roll (I’m not sure he really knew what happened — tummy time has been more like “angry” time ever since), lots of smiles (shy smiles, but they’re definitely there!), and a lot of trips outside of the house.

Even with a 2-month old, it's weird not having a baby belly!

Even with a 2-month old, it’s weird not having a baby belly!

December was kind of nice because I couldn’t really go anywhere on my own, so we were trapped inside. Worked well, since it’s winter here, but by January it was so nice to get my doctor’s okay to drive. I was SO nervous about getting out with a little baby in the car (and not just ANY baby, but MY baby!), but after a few trips, I calmed down a bit and was able to go the speed limit. Our first real trip out, just baby and me, was to the Edmonton Book Blogger’s Christmas Party at the beginning of the month. We had gone out for groceries or appointments, with the husband, but this was our first REAL trip out where we would be somewhere for a few hours. He did amazing and loved meeting everyone! OK, he didn’t say that, but he did have his eyes open in the beginning and was sleepy the rest of the time, so I’d say that was a success!

Two Months Old here! Growing like a WEED, I tell you!

Two Months Old here! Growing like a WEED, I tell you!

Other than that, we had a baby shower this month, thrown by my lovely best friend @DreanaMom. This was our second trip out and I felt like they were just getting better and better. Baby L has his cranky moments, but other than that he is SUCH a good little boy. Very content and happy. I just feel so blessed to have him in my life!

I seriously can't stop taking pictures of this kid.

I seriously can’t stop taking pictures of this kid.

This month we started wearing the baby carrier in the house, so I could get things done and work on blogging things, reading, TV show watching, and whatnot during his naps. Thankfully, he’s a good little sleeper (one night I even got a 7 hour stretch!), so I don’t feel like I’m not getting any reading or blogging done. It’s a lot slower and it certainly felt strange taking 4 days to get my first read of the year in, but I knew that was going to happen. If anything, having Baby L makes me think twice when it comes to buying books — unless it’s a book I really, really want, I usually put it back. In fact, I’ve only bought 2 books so far this year! I’m quite impressed with myself! I’m even keeping a spreadsheet of all of my reads and all of the books I’ve gotten (including gifts and prize winnings), so that helps me question myself again when I’m all, “I need this book!”

No! Not the flowers!

No! Not the flowers!

We took a trip out to the local Muttart Conservatory where there are four pyramids with different set-ups in each one (lots of flowers and foliage); baby and I went to the library’s grand opening celebration, and; the library threw us a baby shower! Lots of fun stuff this month.

making music-01

I did start a new feature on the blog this month — Making Music @ Reading In Winter. I love creating music and have shared bookish songs here in the past, but have SUCH a back catalogue of recordings that I want to start sharing that part of my life here. I’m hoping you guys like it!

books read-01

I’m actually quite impressed with my reading this month. Yes, I’ve slowed down a lot, but I also feel like I do have plenty of time to read, despite all the interaction time I spend with my little guy, the time spent on chores and housework and errands, and the time spent just watching TV with hubs once Baby L has gone to bed. Becoming a mom has really taught me how to NOT worry about doing all the things and putting things on hold until the next day. Every day I have things to do, but try to carve out at least SOME time for reading, even if I’m only reading 50 pages. Of course, some day he has really, really good naps and I get a LOT of reading time done, which comes in handy when I’m ready really good books!

  1. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  2. Annabel by Kathleen Winter (Canadian!)
  3. Losing It by Cora Carmack
  4. More Than This by Patrick Ness
  5. The Dirt Diary by Anna Staniszewski (review book)
  6. In Honor by Jessi Kirby
  7. Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2) by Ransom Riggs (<– bought this month)
  8. The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin
  9. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (SO GOOD!) (<– bought this month)
  10. Hidden Girl by Shyima Hall (review book)
  11. Ashes to Ashes (Experiment in Terror, #8) by Karina Halle (Canadian!)

I haven’t spend EVERY spare minute reading, and it certainly feels like I’m moving a lot slower, but I’m very happy with my reading so far. AND very happy that I’ve refrained from buying ALL the books. I still have that gift certificate from Christmas AND some money in my PayPal (which I use for Kobo books), so we’ll see if I start to use that in the future. 🙂

And I’m happy to say that the two books I *did* buy this month are already read! Go me!

mailbox goodies-01

Not a lot of mailbox goodies but we did have our gift exchange for the Edmonton Book Bloggers Christmas Party! My secret santa was Aylee from Recovering Potter Addict. Not only did she get me a book, but she got the little man something, too! I love her selection since she’s a paleontologist. 🙂 I also have to share the bookish baby gifts from the EBB members, and Baby L’s first bookish gift from Brie over at Eat Books.

20140110_132808Loved Patrick Ness’s book A Monster Calls. This one didn’t quite live up to that one, but still an interesting read! 

1389385973665 A bookish quilt made for Baby L by the Edmonton Book Bloggers! 
20140110_132714 A baby gift to Baby L from Brie — LOVE these books. The illustrations are very lovely! The onesie is also from Indigo. 🙂

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

24 thoughts on “January

  1. What a cutie! I love his little coveralls! And I’d be super proud of how much you’ve read – pretty sure you read more than I did! Haha

  2. Baby L is such a cutie! Such an expressive face already, too.

    It’s incredible that you’ve still read 11 books this month at your slowed down reading pace!

  3. Congratulations on your beautiful baby! And on keeping up with your reading (and blogging). I think you’ve read more than me this month, even with a new baby! I loved Annabel, Me Before You, and The Rosie Project. What did you think of Annabel?

    • Thanks, Naomi! 🙂 I really enjoyed Annabel, though I felt like it was almost too positive … there was a lack of drama, I guess. I think I expected more. I did really love Me Before You and The Rosie Project, though!

    • Thanks, Alexa! Though, keep in mind that I did schedule a LOT beforehand … I’m kind of filling in the gaps when I have time. We’ll see how 2015 goes. But it can stay away … the year is already going too fast!

  4. You look great! And Baby L is as adorable as ever, if not more so.

    Also, you still got a ton of reading done! I only got about 4 books done. (3 finished and 2 half finished). I’m hoping that with the no blogging right now, I will be able to focus my free time more on reading..lol Now I just need to catch up on sleep and NOT be sick, since 4 of the 8 days James has been here, I’ve been sick. 3 of the other 4 days we had appointments and the last day Kailyn was sick. Can’t seem to catch a break, but he’s an excellent baby so far!

    I love that L got some books too! And the Chapters onsie! I have a couple of those and they’re adorable 🙂

    I hope you have a great February!

    • Thanks, Jenn! And L gets cuter every single day, if that’s possible. You’ve been reading bigger books, haven’t you? I’ve been trying to take lots of breaks and reading slowly … it’s kind of nice! I think my slower reading is helping me keep from buying ALL the books.

      I hope you start to feel better! I haven’t been sick since before my pregnancy (knock on wood!) and the husband keeps bringing home sicknesses … I’m so happy that James is such a good baby!! Was Kailyn a good baby, too?

      I love getting books for L … we’re going to Costco tomorrow and I already know I’m going to buy him another Oliver Jeffers book. 🙂 he LOVES the penguins in them!

  5. Awe! I’m glad you can’t stop taking pictures of LO because I’m definitely loving seeing them all! 😀 He’s such a cute, little guy, and he’s got such a personality, his face is so expressive! 😀

    I’m also super impressed! You definitely had a busy month, but you got a lot reading done, and you kept from buying too many books…I should restrain myself from book purchases more often, too. 😛 haha

    And I love the onesie that Brie got LO! It’s so cute! 😀 And so are the books he got, too. 😀

    I hope your February is just as awesome as January! Hopefully it doesn’t pass as quickly though! 😛 January went sooooo fast!

    • His face is SO expressive! I love it! I’m also quite impressed with my lack of buying … I’ve been trying to look for sales of books I actually want rather than just buying anything that looks good. I’ve been lucky to get some freebies so far this year, too!

      I can’t wait for LO to wear the onesie Brie got him … plus he got lots of bookish clothes from the library shower, including a “Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus” onesie and one that says “I Can’t Read.” They’re too big for him right now though! That’s a good thing, though … he’s still growing too fast for me!

  6. He is such a cutie! I would have trouble not taking many pictures too.
    It’s good that you can still get some reading in, and that quilt you got looks really nice.
    Hope February goes well for you!

  7. OMG those cheeks! He is so squishy and adorable!

    It’s awesome that your year is off to a great start! And I am SO admiring your restraint. I’m pretty sure my Christmas book money/gift cards was gone by the first week of January 🙂

  8. Yay, I’m so glad you loved You Before Me! It was a huge hit with my book club too! (Which always feels good when it’s your pick!) And I loved The Rosie Project too – that was my first book of 2014 as well! 11 books read in January is amazing!

    Make sure you take a pic of LO in the onsie once it fits! 🙂 I think I told you, but Baby Fraser also has the same onsie…we’ll have to plan for a photo shoot with them both in it haha 😉 And I still can’t get over how much Baby L looks like you, Kristilyn!

    I too have been thinking twice when it comes to buying new books (or even second hand books) now that Baby is almost here. I’d really like to take this as the time to make an effort to read some of the books I already own (and have owned for a looooong time). It’s hard though, sometimes nothing appeals to me!

    • We definitely will get a picture of L in his onesie! I’m trying very hard to keep track of everything and making sure he gets all of his clothes worn and photographed. Ha ha … 🙂 He had his first playdate yesterday and I couldn’t stop thinking of when his first playdate with Baby Fraser would be! We’re very excited over here!

      It still feels weird to not be reading a ton of books, BUT it’s nice to be liesurly (sic?) reading and spending time doing other things. Baby L and I play the piano (he actually sits on my lap and watches now) and we read books, and it’s nice to spend some time knitting or catching up on TV shows when I have downtime. Plus he actually forces me to get out of the house and socialize a bit, hence the playdate. Plus we’ve found programs at the library and through some mom groups!

      Of course, I’m like you … nothing has been appealing enough to me to buy lately. I still have a gift certificate from before Christmas and have no idea what to spend it on!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

