Making Music @ Reading In Winter (2)

making music-01

It’s another Making Music day! As you can see, I’ve decided to do the every other week thing rather than the every week thing. Just works out better that way for me.

Today I’m sharing with you one of my favourite songs I’ve ever written and recorded, Wild Birds. I wrote it in the spring of 2009 when it was snowing outside. You know, because Canada.

wild birdsThe song also not only made it onto my favourite recorded CD, but was also the title track. I remember having this idea that I had to collect all the birds I could for the album artwork and I have to say that it’s also one of my favourite album covers. There’s also a running theme of birds on this album. I think I wrote a lot about them because they’re just so majestic and free — and those ideas usually work perfectly into song lyrics.

If you like this song, you can listen to clips of the rest of the album, as well as buy the CD (for only $5.00!) over on CDBaby.

The snow’s creeping up the steps
You can barely see past the yard
But it won’t last, the weather report says
The sun should be out tomorrow

Spring sneaks up quietly
As the fields stretch out to breath
The sun wraps around us like telephone wires
And the wild birds take to the breeze

You once told me you could hold the sky in your hands
My heart longs to fly

The wind holds me in her arms
As my delicate wings head south
The winter comes in like a violent storm
As the cold breeze opens her mouth

Copyright © 2014, Kristilyn Robertson. All rights reserved.

An older video of this song (I get major long hair envy watching this video) …

WILD BIRDS VIDEO

(Sorry, I tried to embed it but it’s a flash video. Click on the link to see and share!)

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Making Music @ Reading In Winter (2)

  1. Kristilyn, I don’t know how you do it, but your music always fills me with this almost overwhelming wave of nostalgia! I hear influences of Tori Amos and Sarah Slean, two artists that I used to listen to constantly! So lovely. 🙂

    • Oh, I’m glad it’s your favourite on the CD! My other favourite is Dinner For One … I cry whenever I listen to it. That one is different because it was recorded right off the floor with no embellishments like this one — plus it resonates with some things that have happened in my family in the last while. Very sad song for me!

  2. This is lovely and it reminds me of the time I first “met” you. It was around the time of Author Appreciation August and you had written that song about Anna and Lola? Oh, how I love that song.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

