Review: Just One Year (Just One Day, #2) by Gayle Forman

books-reviews-button-01

just one yearTitle: Just One Year
Author: Gayle Forman
Series: Just One Day, #2
Genre: YA Contemporary
Source: Purchased (Hardcover – signed!)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

The heartrending conclusion—from Willem’s POV—to the romantic duet of novels that began with Allyson’s story in Just One Day

After spending an amazing day and night together in Paris, Just One Year is Willem’s story, picking up where Just One Day ended. His story of their year of quiet longing and near misses is a perfect counterpoint to Allyson’s own as Willem undergoes a transformative journey, questioning his path, finding love, and ultimately, redefining himself.

my thoughts-01

I love Gayle Forman. With all of the past books that I’ve read, I’ve been taken on a journey — usually an emotional rollercoaster — and I have LOVED her for it. I did really enjoy this book, the second in the Just One Day series, but it just didn’t resonate with me like the first book in the series.

Let me begin by saying that there were some things I expected from this book. I expected more of Allyson — I mean, the first book was a romance. OK, there was definitely that journey of self-discovery, but the one thing I loved was that one day aspect of it. What can happen in just one day? Can you fall in love? I felt like that’s what happened between Allyson and Willem, but in this book, it’s just not there.

After the HUGE cliffhanger of the first book, I wanted more in the second book. I guess you can say that I wanted the reverse of the first book in this one. We obviously know what’s going to happen in the end, with this book taking place during the time Allyson and Willem are apart, but part of me wanted them to have a little more screen time together. While I thought Willem definitely had a journey to go through, I felt like I was robbed in the romance part of the book. I mean, after book one, we already knew that’s what would happen. Why not give us a little more?

Willem does go through quite the journey of self-discovery in this book and I loved most of it. There were some parts that were a little slow for me, but I did feel it was necessary for him. He really wasn’t as hung up on his “Lulu” as she was on him during her story, but maybe it’s a guy thing? I love the male point of view, but I guess I never know what to expect with it.

While I didn’t love this one, I still enjoyed the journey. I can’t say that it brought a LOT of resolution after the first book, but I guess I can say that it was necessary to the series. I just expected to swoon a little more.

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

17 thoughts on “Review: Just One Year (Just One Day, #2) by Gayle Forman

  1. Yes to everything you said! I really enjoyed this but like you said, it didn’t resonate with me and there was not enough romance. I’m glad you still enjoyed it though! Lovely review, Kristilyn!

    • Thanks, Rebecca! I still wish there had been more romance in this one, BUT I guess it was written as the POV of a guy … maybe guys just aren’t romantic? At least I’ll always have Allison’s story …

  2. I totally get where you’re coming from. I, too, was expecting JOY to go more like you said, and now that you mention it, I did miss the romance from JOD. In a way though, you can imagine that their love story would go much like Willem’s parent’s did. I thought there were some parallel’s there between his parents and Willem and Allyson. Or maybe I’m digging. 🙂 Great review!

  3. I need to read both of these books already. I mean, Gayle Forman has already proven herself to me and I just need to read them.

    Sorry it didn’t quite live up to your expectations, but good to see that even though it didn’t, you still enjoyed it a lot!

  4. This book sounds so good! I’m glad there’s a happier ending in this one, I’ve been scared to read the previous book because of how heart breaking everyone kept saying it was. Great review!

  5. After seeing everyone talk about Forman on last week’s crying TTT I’ve been curious to pick her up but I’m kind of bummed to learn that these are series books. I’m notoriously bad at reading series. Is there just two or will there be more?

    • They are series books, but there are only two in the series. Personally, I think that the first one, Just One Day, can stand on its own because the second book is more of a companion book, told from Willem’s point of view.

  6. I absolutely agree. I really did enjoy this book but I didn’t connect with it like I did with Just One Day and…. that cliffhanger that didn’t get resolved until the end of THIS book was hard to swallow. I’m glad you still enjoyed it though! I was actually fairly angry when I finished and then came to terms with it haha 🙂

    • Ha ha … I hate it when a book does that! I mean, we spend SO MUCH TIME reading them only to be angered with some by the end. I really expected this one to pick up at the cliffhanger and was so upset when it didn’t. I also expected lots of swooning. And THAT barely happened. I think I’ll have to read the first one again!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

