Weekend Library Reading (7)

WEEKEND LIBRARY READING is a feature of Reading In Winter! If YOU make use of your local library, feel free to participate. I work in a library that has a HUGE selection of awesome books, and even when I’m not working I seem to come home with a TON of them, so it only makes sense to showcase some of the beauties I plan to read from my local library over a weekend. 

As I was at my local library yesterday morning I realized that it had been a LONG time since my last Weekend Library Reading post. TOO long. In fact, when I looked back, I had only posted SIX of these in the entirety of my blogging life, the last one almost an entire YEAR ago! For shame, right? So I’ve decided to bring it back! Since the boy and I will be trying to get to the library at LEAST once a week, I thought I’d share some of the books that we get. So far, it’s just books for me, but eventually I’d like to share some of the gems he takes out.

So, here’s what I got this week:

20140207_132516

First of all, Penguins Hate Stuff by Greg Stones. I was just browsing some of the new books and saw this one. I happen to LOVE penguins (and I’m happy to say my little guy does, too — Oliver Jeffers penguins are his FAVOURITE) so I had to take this one out. It kind of reminds me of the book I featured yesterday on the blog, T-Rex Trying. And I think the cover is hilarious becuase who actually LIKES clowns? The little penguin fainted dead away on the front is too funny.

Second, we have The Disappeared by Kim Echlin. There was a mom who was giving away books on a local mom site and this was one I had my eye on. I didn’t end up getting a freebie of it, but had to put it on hold at the library. It’s a short book, Canadian, and tells the story of a Cambodia student who falls in love with a girl after meeting in a jazz club in Montreal. The boy goes back to Cambodia without telling her, so she goes to find him. Not only does it sound great, but the cover is gorgeous.

Third, Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol. I remember seeing this one over on Sarah’s blog as well as on Trish’s list of books to read for Graphic Novels / Comic February. It’s supposed to be a quick read AND it’s a graphic novel, something I hope to read more of. Plus it also has a great cover. (On a related note, I also saw Maus at the library and almost got it. What do you think? Is it a graphic novel I’d like?)

And lastly, there’s a book that I really need to read (can you sense the sarcasm in my voice?), Mug Cakes, a recipe book by Leslie Bilderback. Yeah, yeah. First of all, you can get a ton of these on Pinterest and second of all, I just had a baby — I’m really doubting I need more mug cakes in my life. Now, if they can get you a mug-drop-30-pounds, I’d take it.

Other than reading these books, my weekend plans include baby snuggles and staying in (since it’s cold and snowy here), as well as working on some crocheting projects and maybe watching Doctor Who.

Have you read these books? What are your weekend plans?

signature-01

17 thoughts on “Weekend Library Reading (7)

  1. The Disappeared is very good. But there may be tears (if you’re the tearful type). I just came home from my library with The Ghost of the Mary Celeste. I can’t wait to read it, but there are some others ahead of it. I can’t wait to finished the first books before getting more!

  2. I haven’t been to my local library in forever. I used to go all the time with Kailyn because of the baby program, but then I moved and now I actually have to register for it and apparently if you don’t call the day registration opens, in the first 30 minutes, you don’t get a spot…lol

    I love the look of the penguin book..lol I have an aunt who looooves penguins, maybe I should get her it 😛

    I would like a mug-drop-30lbs. I gained 40lbs with James, which is a lot more than I did with Kailyn. So far I’m down 25lbs, so only 15 more to go! I’m sure I will cling to 5 while breastfeeding though.

    I hope you enjoy them all (the mug cakes not too much though).

    • The library in the next town over has a program but you have to register in September for it! So it’s full. 😦 The library I work at has it quarterly, which is nice, and the baby program really doesn’t fill up. I like going to my library, anyway … plus, LO gets lots of cuddles when he’s there. 🙂

      I still think the cutest penguin books are Oliver Jeffers’ Up & Down and Lost & Found. SO freaking cute. I’m okay with reading them multiple times a day. 🙂

      I gained weight before having LO and was about to really buckle down and start running again before I knew I was pregnant … now, of course, I’ve lost all motivation for that!

    • Anya’s Ghost was very good! I can see why Neil Gaiman said it was a masterpiece — it really reminded me of his stuff.

      And I think we can ALL use a mug cake at one time or another.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

