Making Music @ Reading In Winter (3)

making music-01

the bee treeIt’s time for another installment of Making Music! What’s in store for this week, you ask? This is an old song of mine, written for my album, The Bee Tree. I had released my first album in 2003 and it wasn’t until 2007 that I released this one. It was my first album completely recorded by me in my own studio! Hearts was one of those songs I wrote where I just put pen to paper and wrote in a stream of consciousness. By the end of the page, I realized that the flow of words meant that the piano part had to be something simple, repetitive almost.

This album, although grown from my first album, is still not quite the calibre I was looking for. Not so much in the recordings, but in my voice and courage. I seemed to still be hiding in my shell for this album and I can tell when I listen back to it. The lyrics and vocals aren’t quite as brave yet and you can probably hear a huge difference between this one and the previous Making Music song, Wild Birds.

(Like this song? You can buy the album HERE for $5.00!)

Whatever happened to you?
It’s been so long
The days pass by like the melody
Of your favourite song
Whatever happened to man?
We were doing so well
It takes too much to listen
So we just tell
Our words
Lost like sailors in the sea
Tossed in a bottle
And then set free
Only to be found by the lonely
Walking on the shore
The words read like love letters
From a long lost war
Men who battle
Men who fight
Only to dream of their loved ones
Every night
Hearts break
Hearts ache
We give
We take
Hearts break
Hearts ache
We give
We take
Whatever happened to you?
It’s been so long
The days pass by like a handshake
Though we’re not as strong
Whatever happened to the words
And the light that shined on
A window in a small room
Where I’ve been all along?
Hearts break
Hearts ache
We give
We take
Hearts break
We give
We take

Copyright © 2014, Kristilyn Robertson. All rights reserved.

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

