Weekend Library Reading (10) — Mini Reviews & New Books

WEEKEND LIBRARY READING is a feature of Reading In Winter! If YOU make use of your local library, feel free to participate. I work in a library that has a HUGE selection of awesome books, and even when I’m not working I seem to come home with a TON of them, so it only makes sense to showcase some of the beauties I plan to read from my local library over a weekend. 

While we’re doing good visiting the library, this week kind of sucked when it came to reading the books I got. It’s not that I didn’t try! We had more success reading through LO’s books, Dinos Don’t Yell and Lions Say Please, than I did going through mine. I guess not all weeks can be winners!

Here’s what I got last week:

20140220_160621

My thoughts:

black orchidBlack Orchid by Neil Gaiman

So I really, really love Neil Gaiman but I think there are some of his stories and books that go over my head. Like I mentioned in my library post last week, I’m trying to work my way through his very, very large catalogue of works and this was one that popped up at the library. It was very … different. I’m not sure if it was to be part fairytale, part mystery, part fantasy. The graphics were great. Really, Dave McKean just can’t disappoint with his illustrations. I always love reading any Neil Gaiman book that is illustrated by McKean. This graphic novel was a great combination of colours and imagery.

I’m not sure if this belongs to other graphic novel collections, but there are appearances by other superheroes (a famous bat being one of them!). It was both neat and weird. When it comes to the storytelling, though, I can’t really say it was Neil’s best. I mean, I love Neil and all, but if I had to pick his best stories, this one wouldn’t even make it onto the list. It kind of reads like a first story by a favourite author — good, but not as good as they’ve come to be. I can’t say I wasn’t a little disappointed while reading this.

This is still a story that is though-provoking, but it’s a little dated (of course, so is Sandman, but not quite as much). There’s still lots of beauty and a little bit of creepiness. It’s still definitely Neil Gaiman, just not my favourite.

I’m STILL reading The Taker, so I can’t review that one quite yet. I’m really enjoying it, though I didn’t expect that it would be quite so long! It’s nearly 600 pages! I had hoped to finish it by this weekend, but didn’t have as much reading time as I would’ve liked AND the husband is home this weekend, so I’m preoccupied! As for my first manga experience, it was … not so good. Maybe I just picked the wrong kind of book, but I just couldn’t get into Hot Ticket! I think I read about 200+ pages and I thought the story was just so silly and unbelievable. I didn’t like the main character and there was a brother who seemed to be in love with his sister, a guy who blackmails someone into being his slave (for something so silly, in my opinion). It just didn’t grab me like I hoped it would.

If you read manga, what would you recommend I try? 

NOW … onto this week’s books!

20140225_173101

1. Death Note Volume 1: Boredom (Death Note, #1) by Tsugumi Ohba will be my second attempt at manga. So far, I’m just not getting the appeal, but we’ll see how this one goes. I did get the thumbs up for this one from Kelsey over at Kelsey’s Cluttered Bookshelf, so that’s a good thing!

2. The Infernal Devices (Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince) by Cassandra Clare (illustrated by HyeKyung Baek) — more manga! I know, I know, I’m determined to like at least something in this genre. Is manga a genre? The Infernal Devices is one of my favourite series, definitely better than The Mortal Instruments in my opinion. I really hope the manga version doesn’t ruin it for me!

3. Fun Home by Allison Bechdel is another one of those non-fiction graphic novels like The Complete Persepolis. I’ve seen really good things about it and see that it’s a mix of dark comedy and gothic drawings. I haven’t even cracked it open to peek at it because I don’t want to ruin it. Since I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Complete Persepolis, I’m hoping that this one is different.

Yeah, I’m on a bit of a graphic novel kick from the library, but that’s okay. My plan for this next week is to start watching Downton Abbey and to finish a few crochet projects I’ve started. AND to finish The Taker. I’ve also been listening to An Evening With Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer, a 3-CD set I got from the library. So far, it’s awesome. The hubs is home this weekend, too, and we have some plans, but I think mostly we’ll just chill around the house. Literally. Winter in Canada is long.

Have you read these books? What are your weekend plans?

signature-01

7 thoughts on “Weekend Library Reading (10) — Mini Reviews & New Books

  1. I haven’t read The Infernal Devices yet, but I love The Mortal Instruments and am determined to read this series this year! It’s so cool that they have made graphic novels out of this series. I would love to hear what you think of them.
    Happy reading!

    • Oh you really should read The Infernal Devices!!! It’s such a good series. I think I loved it even more than The Mortal Instruments. I’ve started reading the first one and it’s okay … definitely not as good as the regular book.

  2. I completely agree with you that The Infernal Devices is better than The Mortal Instruments. Although, I’m looking forward to finishing up TMI series soon 🙂 I just love Cassandra Clare!

    Enjoy your books this week, good luck getting them read!

    • I still need to read book #5 in the Mortal Instruments series. ONE DAY. Maybe once the last one is out I’ll buy that and binge … (as fast as one can binge read with a child!).

      It’s Tuesday and I’ve finished them all! Yay!

      • Yeah, I only read the first 3 books and saved the other two for when the last book comes out. Mostly because it was a complete story arc and I binged read it, soo..I don’t like having to wait for all my series 😛

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

