Review: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosch

books-reviews-button-01

hyperbole and a halfTitle: Hyperbole and a Half
Author:
Allie Brosch
Genre:
Humour
Source:
Purchased (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

my thoughts-01

First things first, I need to talk about how I got this book. Not because it’s a really interesting story, but because it all kind of pissed me off. I am a HUGE buyer of books at my local Wal-Mart. I would stop there JUST to buy the books. I didn’t even need any of the books I was buying but the fact that they sold books for 40% off was a huge selling point for me.

So the husband and I go to the Wal-Mart to buy a gift and I go to the books (naturally) and see this one. I saw it over on Sarah’s blog at Sarah Says Read and thought it would be a fun read. I picked it up and the husband says, “What? $21.00 for a book? Are you serious? That’s way too expensive for a book!” I told him not to worry, the books were always 40% off – even though I didn’t see the normal signage for this promotion.

Nope. NO 40% off for me. Apparently they had done away with that promotion.

Suck it Wal-Mart.

I’m sure you’re waiting for me to say that I didn’t actually buy the book, that I decided to stick it to the man and put it back on the shelf at the register, but nope. I’m weak. The book came home with us that day.

While I sat and snickered as I read it, the husband keeps looking my way saying, “If you’re going to read it that fast, we can always go and return it when you’re done. Are you really going to read it again?”

Little did he know that when I finished the book, I could totally see myself reading it again – well, maybe not the whole thing, but bits and pieces. I’m a complete sucker when it comes to anything about dogs, especially funny stories that have me looking at mine saying, “Yup. This is totally you.” Like the one story in the book about the author, Allie, seeing whether or not her dog (the simple dog) was smart. The husband and I did ALL of those tests on our own first dog when we got him. He was definitely smarter than the simple dog, but it was funny to look back.

There’s also a great story about a goose – nay, a killer goose – who had broke into Allie’s house (wait – can a goose break into a house?) and attacked. That one was HILARIOUS and I loved how the author actually tacked on some stills of footage she took of the episode, since it’s easy to think, “Oh, you’re just making that up.”

Of course, then I think back to when the husband and I were on a paddleboat at the local zoo and we got a little too close to a goose. Those things HISS. They’re pretty mean. I could totally relate to the story. Don’t get too close to geese. They WILL attack. Really. They’re right up there with sharks.

Not only is this book full of true stories from Allie’s life, but there are also drawings. They reminded me of The Oatmeal drawings and really added to a lot of the stories. I’m not sure what it is about drawings that are so terribly done that make me laugh, but they were FUNNY. The book’s stories were also broken up by colour, which I really liked. It just made for a really pretty book – if you’re into gazing at the edge of a book at the closed pages. It was like a rainbow, I’m telling you.

This book might not be for everyone and it might not be a book to read all in one sitting. A story here and there works well. If you like humour, want something fast to read, and something that’s unique, then read this book. I’ll be sure to check out the author’s blog, Hyperbole and a Half, now. She’s got me hooked!

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Review: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosch

  1. Man, I would balk at $21 too but if I really wanted the book I would just buy it.

    Hyperbole and a Half sounds like an April sort of book, lololol drawings that aren’t masterpieces make me laugh too.

  2. I got this book for my husband, hoping it would be the kind of book to get him reading more. He hasn’t read it since that first day, but, oh, on that day he was hooting with laughter. And, I know, that not picking it up again is in no way a reflection of the book. I will have to read it instead.

  3. “Suck it Walmart” You’ve made me giggle. 😛

    Also up there with geese, ducks. My brothers and I got to close to ducks at a pond once, they chase us while doing the hissy thing, it was terrifying to my 8 year old self. Evil things.

    I’ve seen little bits of this authors work all over the internet, I love it 😛

  4. Loved this book! I totally read it all in one sitting, haha. And the goose story was SO funny. I feel like I have a lot of funny stories that I could put in a book like that if I ever wrote one, but Allie just has this hilarious way about her…I could never make it as laugh-out-loud funny as she does.

  5. I absolutely love Allie Brosh, and I am a huge fan of her blog, so this one was an insta-buy for me! I had it pre-ordered from Chapters when they had a deal going on for it though, so I ended up getting it for $10…such a fantastic deal! And yes…I discovered that the 40% promotion was gone the hard way, too. Paid full price for 3 hardcover books thinking it was such a good deal…nope. I was too weak to put them back though, too. 😛

    But, yes! I think this one is perfect for sitting and reading a story at a time. Her blog is great for that, too. I’m still sad that “The Year Kenny Loggins Ruined Christmas” wasn’t in there though….it’s my favourite of her blog posts. So funny! 😛 And the dog one is hilarious, too. That was the first blog post of hers I ever read, and I was hooked instantly!

    • I’m always too weak to put books back after I take the time to pick them out …

      I’ll have to check out her blog! I keep meaning to and should probably bookmark it for when I need a good laugh. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

