Review: A Night To Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1) by Tessa Dare

books-reviews-button-01

a night to surrenderTitle: A Night To Surrender
Series: Spindle Cove, #1
Author:
Tessa Dare
Genre: Historical Romance
Source: Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Welcome to Spindle Cove, where the ladies with delicate constitutions come for the sea air, and men in their prime are… nowhere to be found. Or are they?

Spindle Cove is the destination of choice for certain types of well-bred young ladies: the painfully shy, young wives disenchanted with matrimony, and young girls too enchanted with the wrong men; it is a haven for those who live there.

Victor Bramwell, the new Earl of Rycliff, knows he doesn’t belong here. So far as he can tell, there’s nothing in this place but spinsters… and sheep. But he has no choice, he has orders to gather a militia. It’s a simple mission, made complicated by the spirited, exquisite Susanna Finch—a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of Bram’s makeshift army.

Susanna has no use for aggravating men; Bram has sworn off interfering women. The scene is set for an epic battle… but who can be named the winner when both have so much to lose?

my thoughts-01

Where has this series been all my life? Or, at least for the last few years?

Lately I’ve been trying to get into more historical romances, but I found the ones I was trying not as gripping as I was hoping for. I’d read a few pages and put them down. But then I saw Kelly, from Reading the Paranormal, was raving about this series, so I decided to give it a go.

WHY DO I EVER DOUBT KELLY?

This series had me at the first lamb sighting. No, seriously. I went into it thinking I wouldn’t like it at ALL, but then a little lamb named Dinner appears and I was completely smitten. Not to mention the characters of Susanna and Bram – and the whole cast of characters of the town of Spindle Cove.

Not only is this a wonderful historical romance, but it’s full of humour, fun, and totally sexy times. IT WAS AWESOME! I also liked that all of the ladies of Spindle Cove were so different – it really makes things interesting for the rest of the series. We have the brave ones, the shy ones, the nerdy ones, and the ones with overbearing mothers. Even the men of Spindle Cove are all different. At any rate, the rest of the series is bound to be amazing.

This is also probably one of the first series books in a while that, upon finishing it, made me want to dive into the next book. And, well, that’s exactly what I did. If you love historical romances, give this one a try. I think Kelly says it best in her review when she says, “And maybe you should pick up the rest of the series while you’re at it because if you’re anything like me, you’re going want to have book 2 in hand as soon as you reach the final page of book 1.”

I guarantee you will become addicted with this series!

rating-5plus-01

Author Links

WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

7 thoughts on “Review: A Night To Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1) by Tessa Dare

  1. From first glance this book is something I’d probably never read but your review makes it sound so interesting! Its always great when books surprise like that, glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Glad you loved it! I don’t think I’ve read this one (?), but I’ve definitely read at least one of the books in this series. I’ve read more in her other series, though… I’m pretty sure the Stud Club books were the ones I enjoyed the most.

    • I started with this series and completely fell in love … the Stud Club books are great, too! I still need to check out her Wanton Dairymade trilogy … I’m so glad she has so many books available!

  3. Pingback: [Book Talk] Do You Want To Start a Scandal? (Spindle Cove, #5) by Tessa Dare | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

