Mini Reviews (Cora Carmack, Karina Halle, & Melanie Benjamin)

books-reviews-button-01

I hadn’t intended on doing mini reviews on the blog, but since I have a lot of reviews already scheduled and other posts already scheduled and other days allotted other kinds of posts, I just didn’t know where to put reviews for some of the books I’ve read this year that I still haven’t gotten to talk about. I thought about saving them for 2015, but I’m pretty adament about starting that year completely fresh with new ideas and a new outlook on blogging. So, mini reviews. Of course, “mini” means that I don’t get longwinded and we all know how well I can be with that …

Losing It twoLosing It (Losing It, #1) by Cora Carmack

Genre: New Adult
Source: Purchased (Paperback)
Rating: 3/5

As I’m sitting here trying to write a review for this book, I’m drawing a blank on what my thoughts about it were. I’m guessing that it wasn’t that memorable of a book, which is why I gave it a middle-of-the-road rating. I think what bugged me about this book is that it had no substance. Not that a new adult book really requires substance, but I felt like everything happened too easy between Bliss and Garrick and that there wasn’t that much really between them. There was the whole “forbidden romance” part of the book, but it didn’t seem like THAT dire of a thing. I did like that Bliss was a theatre girl — I love any book that has anything to do with the arts — but other than that, there really wasn’t much to it. It’s a shorter read, and definitely not one that made me absolutely need to read the rest in the series. That’s too bad because it really did sound like a great read in the beginning. Based on the cover, it seems like you’re getting a hotter read than it is. It’s really just light and fluffy. It’s fine if you have an afternoon and just want to read something, but if you’re looking for something deeper, then I’m sure there are other better books out there.

ashes to ashesAshes to Ashes (Experiment in Terror, #8) by Karina Halle

Genre: Horror (& Canadian!)
Source: Purchased (eBook)
Rating: 5/5

This is the second last book in this series and I’m so sad that eventually (that is, in a few months) it has to end. I’ve loved Dex and Perry right from the beginning and it’ll be weird to not look forward to another installment of their show anymore. That being said, this book was still just as awesome as the rest in the series, though the only thing that gets to me is the sexier scenes, or even the “sexy” things that Dex says. I’m hesitant to say that I love, love, loved this book because I feel like the things that Dex and Perry say to one another (well, Dex mainly) are just getting raunchier and raunchier and it’s just not that sexy anymore. There’s also the characters of Dex and Perry. They’ve grown a little bit, but not much since the first book. Yes, things have happened, but I feel like they’re still the same people after 8 books.

HOWEVER, this story also takes place in a school that used to be a sanitorium. It has the premise to be super scary and it really, really was. Karina Halle just does “scary” very well and I look forward to whatever new scary books she comes up with. This really isn’t a book that you want to read in the dark, alone in the house, during a thunderstorm. Unless you have ALL the lights on and maybe a dog or three.

the aviator's wifeThe Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin

Genre: Historical
Source: Bought (Paperback)
Rating: 4/5

When I started reading this book — actually, even when I finished reading it, too — I had no idea that it was based on real events and a real-life couple. I just wanted to read it because it sounded really, really good and had to do with airplanes. In fact, this is the second airplane book I’ve read this year. Maybe I’m on some kind of kick? Anyway, I really enjoyed this one. I wanted to kick the main character so many times, but enjoyed seeing her grow throughout the book. Then there was her husband, Charles. I’m not really sure how Anne put up with him because he is definitely a different breed. Very particular and almost Sheldon Cooper-ish with the strict way he needs things done. I also really hated the fact that everything had to be about him. There was the recurring theme of Anne wanting to write her book and how Charles would almost be joking when he said that she was the writer of the family. It’s sad to think that this is how relationships were back then, that everything revolved around Charles and that’s how it was supposed to be. If anything good happened to Anne, he would sulk and try to turn things back to him (kind of reminds me of the whole Petrovsky/Carrie relationship in Sex and the City).

That being said, it was still a very engaging read and went by faster than I wanted it to. I absolutely loved the bits about Anne learning to fly. I’m a little disappointed that the girl on the cover of the book doesn’t quite resemble the Anne in my head, but putting that aside, the book just works. It’s got some humour, its sad, and it’s the perfect painting of the famous couple. The only thing that might drag you down while reading this is that Charles is just really, really unlikeable. But we can’t like them all, right? I’d still be interested to try something else by Melanie Benjamin — and maybe another airplane book!

Have you read these books? What are your thoughts?

signature-01

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews (Cora Carmack, Karina Halle, & Melanie Benjamin)

  1. Of the Losing It series, I thought Faking It was by far the best, and actually, the only one I really enjoyed!

    And I love that you’re noting the Canadian reads πŸ™‚

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

