Review: Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, #1) by Kelley Armstrong

made in canada-01

bittenTitle: Bitten
Series:
Women of the Otherworld, #1
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: Purchased (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

An erotically charged, addictive thriller from the future queen of suspense.

Living in Toronto for a year, Elena is leading the normal life she has always dreamed of, including a stable job as a journalist and a nice apartment shared with her boyfriend. As the lone female werewolf in existence, only her secret midnight prowls and her occasional inhuman cravings set her apart. Just one year ago, life was very different. Adopted by the Pack when bitten, Elena had spent years struggling with her resentment at having her life stolen away. Torn between two worlds, and overwhelmed by the new passions coursing through her body, her only option for control was to deny her awakening needs and escape.

But now the Pack has called Elena home to help them fight an alliance of renegade werewolves who are bent on exposing and annihilating the Pack. And although Elena is obliged to rejoin her “family,” she vows not to be swept up in Pack life again, no matter how natural it might feel. She has made her choice. Trouble is, she’s increasingly uncertain if it’s the right one.

An erotically charged thriller, Bitten will awaken the voracious appetite of every reader, as the age-old battle between man and beast, between human and inhuman forces, comes to a head in one small town and within one woman’s body.

my thoughts-01

You know how there are series out there where you really, really WANT to read the books in them, you keep ACCUMULATING books for them, and you even go to author signings for the books … and yet you STILL haven’t read them?

This is one of those series.

I bought 11 books in the series from a friend last year and was very much looking forward to diving in. I had heard so many wonderful things about the series that I had to know what it was about! Naturally, it sat on my shelf until the second author signing I went to for Kelley when I was determined to finally give the series a go.

Of course, once I read the first book I wondered WHY I had put it off for so long!

After that long-winded intro to this review, I’m still at a loss as to what to say about the book. I loved the characters, the story, and Kelley’s writing. Honestly, I didn’t expect to be completely drawn in as I was, but right off the bat, I was so intrigued by Elena’s character and her wolfish instincts. And then we meet more of the clan and … well, I was smitten!

Admittedly, while I wasn’t completely on the train for Elena and her love interested for most of the book, it was ALL worthwhile by the end. It was interesting to see how she was living almost a dual life with her wolf pack and her human boyfriend. Can a wolf really deny her instincts and live with humans?

This book was jam packed with action, romance, friendship, amazing characters, and a great Canadian background. It is PERFECT if you are a fan of paranormal romance, like some sexy times in your reads, and want to try out an amazing Canadian author. I honestly can’t wait to continue on with the series. Highly recommended!

rating-5plus-01

Author Links

WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

13 thoughts on “Review: Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, #1) by Kelley Armstrong

  1. I’d had Bitten forever as well, and finally read it about a year ago. I’ve since finished the series and the two books of short stories – have fun! There are some great characters that are still going to be introduced, though Elena definitely remained a favorite.

  2. I loved this series. There were a few books I didn’t love as much but overall it was a terrific series and I hope Armstrong decides to write in that world again.

  3. I have some of her books on my shelf (I can’t even remember which ones, is that bad?..lol) and have heard so many amazing things about her writing. I HAVE to read some of it soon. Also, this one has a tv show now doesn’t it?

    ps. I put Stardust by Gaiman on my kobo.. one step closer to reading him!

  4. Bitten is still my favourite of this series! I think I’ve read them all but the newest one, written from Savannah’s PoV. They all sweep you away, and you become so invested in the story and the characters, but Elena’s story is still my favourite. Probably because she’s surrounded by such an adorable (and handsome) posse!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

