Review: The Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2) by Maureen Johnson

books-reviews-button-01

the madness underneathTitle: The Madness Underneath
Series: Shades of London, #2
Author:
Maureen Johnson
Genre: YA Supernatural
Source: Gifted (Signed Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

When madness stalks the streets of London, no one is safe…

There’s a creepy new terror haunting modern-day London.
Fresh from defeating a Jack the Ripper killer, Rory must put her new-found hunting skills to the test before all hell breaks loose…

But enemies are not always who you expect them to be and crazy times call for crazy solutions. A thrilling teen mystery.

my thoughts-01

So I’m kind of in love with Maureen Johnson. She has such a wide range of stories that I never know what she’s going to come up with next! I had actually started reading her stories with her Shades of London series and loved the characters so much that I had to see what other characters she had come up with. The great thing about Maureen is that even though she’s writing horror, she works in humour and other elements as well. Makes for a very enjoyable read!

While I loved the first book in this series, The Name of the Star, I have to say that this one was lacking just a little something. It might have been due to the fact that the main character, Rory, isn’t in school for a lot of the story, therefore not around characters like Jazza and Jerome, or maybe the scares just aren’t there as much as they were in the first book. Still, this was a fun installment, full of some scares and creepy settings.

One thing I really disliked with this story was how in The Name of the Star, we’re given a resolution at the end, with an opening for another story in the series. This one ends by setting up the next story — with really no resolution. To me, the story just didn’t seem finished, especially since I started reading it after finishing the first book, thinking how great it was that each book would be a story all on its own, rather than a set-up story. Boy, was I wrong! I almost wish that I had held off a little longer, reading this one when the third book was available because cliffhangers like this one suck.

Maureen Johnson is still tops in my books when it comes to awesome YA authors, so I’m still super excited to see where this series goes next with The Shadow Cabinet. There was still plenty of unexpected moments, which was great, but I kind of wish that the boarding school had more prominence in this story. Still, I do love the London atmosphere and the creepy elements that Maureen worked into the setting.

rating-4-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: The Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2) by Maureen Johnson

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

