Review: The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl (Geek Girls, #1) by Gina Lamm

books-reviews-button-01

the geek girl and the scandalous earlTitle: The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl
Author:
Gina Lamm
Genre:
Time Travel Romance
Source:
Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

THE STAKES HAVE NEVER BEEN HIGHER…

An avid gamer, Jamie Marten loves to escape into online adventure. But when she falls through an antique mirror into a lavish bedchamber—200 years in the past!—she realizes she may have escaped a little too far.

Micah Axelby, Earl of Dunnington, has just kicked one mistress out of his bed, and isn’t looking to fill it with another—least of all this sassy, nearly naked girl who claims to be from the future. Yet something about her is undeniably enticing…

Jamie and Micah are worlds apart. He’s a peer of the realm. She can barely make rent. She’s wi-fi. He’s horse-drawn. But soon the pair will do anything to avoid a Game Over.

my thoughts-01

I love a good time travel romance, so when I found this book, I was over the moon with excitement. Once I cracked it open (via turning on my ereader) I knew it would be something I would love.

First of all, the main character reminded me SO MUCH of Penny from The Big Bang Theory – I can’t put my finger on it, but the mannerisms and the snarky way of talking sometimes made me think of it. I pictured her a lot whenever I would see Jamie in my mind.

And the earl! I love a good fish-out-of-water story, so I liked seeing how frustrated the earl would get with Jamie and her ways.  I had no real-life picture of him in my mind, but he definitely was handsome and proper, and the perfect match for Jamie.

With most time travel stories where we have a main character traveling from the present day into the past, the focus is mostly on that character from the present day, but I felt like this one was more on the people who would come into contact with Jamie. Her time in 1816 wasn’t all that different, if you don’t include the dresses, the corsets, the stays, the chamber pots, and the lack of a shower. I think she handled it all quite well!

The only thing that knocked this down a bit for me in the ratings was some of the writing. There were a few turns of phrases, or ends of sentences, that would be used quite often within a few pages of each other – so much so that it was noticeable. Also, I’m not sure if I totally agreed with Jamie’s actions towards the end – well, more her attitude than her actions. I don’t want to give anything away, but seeing as she was a strong character, I expected that strength to last throughout the entire story.

This was the perfect read for a lazy weekend and I’m so happy to have realized that this will be part of a (at least) 3-book series! I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book to see what kind of characters Gina comes up with!

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEBTWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl (Geek Girls, #1) by Gina Lamm

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

