Book Hoarder’s Selection (46): War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

book hoarder new-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased or have been gifted, which have been neglected for a long time.

war horseTITLE: War Horse

AUTHOR: Michael Morpurgo

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since January 2012.

WHY I’M READING IT: TWO YEARS. I’ve had this book on my shelves since 2012 so that means it’s time to read it. I remember buying it after loving Shadow by the same author — that book completely broke me apart. I’m pretty sure War Horse, the movie, was coming out around the time I bought this one, so I really wanted to read it. Obviously, I did really well with that. However, I still haven’t seen the movie, so maybe after I read it I can finally cross that off my list, too!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSIS:

A powerful tale of war, redemption, and a hero’s journey.

In 1914, Joey, a beautiful bay-red foal with a distinctive cross on his nose, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front. With his officer, he charges toward the enemy, witnessing the horror of the battles in France. But even in the desolation of the trenches, Joey’s courage touches the soldiers around him and he is able to find warmth and hope. But his heart aches for Albert, the farmer’s son he left behind. Will he ever see his true master again?

Have you read this book?

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (46): War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

