Rereading: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) by Stephanie Perkins

books-reviews-button-01

lolaTitle: Lola and the Boy Next Door
Series:
Anna and the French Kiss, #1
Genre: YA Contemporary
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

my thoughts-01

There are very few authors who I would like to keep in my pocket. You know, those authors who write such sweet stories that make me laugh, cry, and swoon all in one breath? Those authors would be perfect to pull out for a rainy day, or a snowy evening, or really, just any time in between.

This is mainly why I decided to reread Lola and the Boy Next Door. I needed a book that wouldn’t disappoint, something I knew I would love, something I knew would keep my interest until the very last words.

When in doubt, a reread is necessary.

I swear, I had a smile plastered on my face from the first few pages! I completely loved Lola and Cricket and Lola’s dads and pretty much all the characters right from the start. They ALL came back to me when I cracked open the pages again. It was pretty amazing. I love finding a book that I can reread over and over again and never be disappointed.

And can I just spend a little bit of time (since I’m sure I’ve gushed PLENTY over Stephanie Perkins in the past – I mean, I even wrote a SONG for some of her boys) talking about Cricket? I mean, he’s just the perfect guy. He dresses awesome, he’s nice to his sister, he’s awesome to Lola, and he is just plain sweet. I mean, yeah, mistakes had been made in the past, but this is Cricket. You can’t NOT forgive him.

I’m pretty sure that Stephanie’s books will always remain in my arsenal when it comes to finding the perfect reread. I’ve recommended her books to friends and colleagues and I’m always so happy to find out that they, too, loved the books. Definitely the sign of a good author.

rating-5plus-01

Author Links

WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

4 thoughts on “Rereading: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I loved reading this book, and seeing your review makes me want to re-read it too. But I must wait for the third book, and maybe have a read-a-thon of my own for all of them! 🙂

  2. I now feel like I’m overdue for a Lola and the Boy Next Door reread! I loved it the first time I read it, particularly charmed by Cricket. And I’m fairly certain I’m going to love it as much when I read it at some point this year 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

