Review: Twice Upon a Time (Lovers’ Leap, #2) by Olivia Cunning

books-reviews-button-01

twice upon a timeTitle: Twice Upon a Time
Series:
Lovers’ Leap, #2
Author: Olivia Cunning
Genre: Time Travel Romance
Source: Purchased (eBook)

When Lara and Reece arrive at their next leap to the past, she discovers her lover is missing more than his pants. How are they supposed to help a eunuch and a princess find love? And who would have believed that a harem is one of the most dangerous places on Earth? Death threats. Group sex. Sensual massage. Okay, so it isn’t all bad, but managing a love affair with one man can be a challenge. With two of them? And a woman? Three days is enough of that experience for Lara. She’s relieved when they leave that complex relationship behind until she finds there isn’t love in Hana’s heart for the handsome samurai beneath her blade, but vengeance. He’s convinced she’s his soul-mate. She’s convinced he needs to die. Can he convince her to make love not war?

On the run through time, attempting to escape a man who is hell-bent on Lara’s lack-of a-future becoming a reality, the couple must leap from one time and place to another just to stay alive. In the second volume of this sexy and humorous new series, Lara and Reece share an existence with a harem eunuch and a spoiled Turkish princess and then with an honorable samurai and the brave ninja he knows is fated to be his true love.

Twice Upon a Time is the second in the Lovers’ Leap series of serial novellas.

my thoughts-01

When I finished the first book in this series, Loving On Borrowed Time, I was over the moon. I had finally found some more time travel romance to satisfy my craving! And it was by one of my favourite authors, Olivia Cunning! Naturally, when I saw that there was a second book in the series, I jumped to grab a copy so that I could continue on with the story of Reece and Lara.

Unfortunately, though, this story was lacking when compared to the first book in the series. Whereas we get a lot of Reece and Lara and their history in the first book, this book concentrates more on the people they jump into. There’s not a lot of story going on and we only get a bit of resolution when it comes to the whole situation with Carl, who Reece says wants Lara dead.

I wish I could say that the sexy times saved the story, but while the sex was plenty, it was just too much and didn’t really add to the story. I KNOW. Olivia Cunning really writes some of the best sexy scenes in her other series, but this story had me wondering if it really was written by the same author. It was just lacking in something.

I’m not sure if I want to continue on with this series or not. From the sounds of it, there will be a third book, but I think I would’ve preferred it if I got more of the characters I love, Reece and Lara, and less of the haphazard way the story seems put together. Of course, Olivia Cunning will still remain to be one of my favourite authors, but I would definitely go forward recommending some of her other series books instead.

rating-3-01

Author Links:

WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

