April

april recap-01

Well hi there! It’s been a while!

Looking at the calendar, I see I’m writing this a bit late … what with it being May 10th. But in all seriousness, how is it May 10th already??

Looking outside lately, you would never think that we were in May because we’ve had snow like crazy. Thankfully, it’s nice(ish) out today with no snow, but being Canadian, we know not to rule out any more until well after this month.

I know you’re all jealous.

No question about it, once spring does come, it's so beautiful here.

No question about it, once spring does come, it’s so beautiful here.

April was a bit of a busy month. The snow had started to melt so we started getting out a lot, me and my little boy (who is 5.5 months — how is time flying by this fast??). We had playdates, walking dates, library programs, and a whole bunch of other things to do. In bookish news for him, we attended a few library programs and he loves them. He can get a bit crotchety during these sessions since they’re in the afternoon and he’s tired, but lately he gets all smiley when we’re there.

In bookish news for me you may have noticed that I’m a bit of a crazy person when it comes to posting. I have reasons, I assure you! Let’s just say that I’m getting this all out of my system now and I did have an insane backlog of posts. I promise, it won’t be like this forever.

IMG_20140429_131651

This month I attended an impromptu book club with Brie of A Slice of Brie, Laura of Reading in Bed, Tammy of Mad Musings of Masters Mind, and Tania of Write Reads. And our special guest? Local author Todd Babiak! We all read his latest novel, Come Barbarians, and met for a discussion of it with Todd. While it wasn’t my favourite book, it was a fun time had by all with great company, wine, and hummus.

I also, sadly, attended a bookish goodbye party for our head librarian at work who was leaving to pursue other things. Her leaving was sad, but I do have to say that librarians sure know how to party!

Other than that, I got addicted to Downton Abbey in March and attended a live improv group that was inspired by the show. Two words: Freaking. Awesome.

books read-01

Oh, hey, I read books last month, too!

  1. Geek Girls Don’t Date Dukes (Geek Girls, #2) by Gina Lamm (review book)
  2. Come Barbarians by Todd Babiak (for book club)
  3. Romancing the Duke (Castles Ever After, #1) by Tessa Dare
  4. The Good Mother Myth edited by Avital Norman Nathman (won from Laura!)
  5. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (review book)
  6. Biggest Flirts (The Superlatives, #1) by Jennifer Echols (unsolicited review book)

Definitely didn’t read very much last month, but that’s okay. I was super busy and by the time my head hit the pillow at night, I was out like a light. I do, however, usually get up early with my husband in the morning and spend my time reading until my little guy gets up.

Favourite books this month had to be Romancing the Duke and Since You’ve Been Gone. Both proved why Tessa Dare and Morgan Matson are on my auto-buy list! It’s always so much fun to have new books by favourite authors.

mailbox goodies-01

Surprisingly, April was quite the bookish month! I got a few ARCs:

biggest flirts since you've been gone
From Simon & Schuster Canada
spun
From Catherine McKenzie
second star broken hearts the summer invitation
From Raincoast Books
the good mother myth
Won from Laura’s blog

Thank you to all the publishers for some great books! And to Laura for choosing my name for the giveaway … I never win giveaways anymore, it seems, so it’s always nice to win a book!

I also bought a few books this month (thus breaking by 2 books a month limit!):

a tale of two cities romancing the duke the husband's secret the invention of wings the m word

Surprisingly, out of the 12 books I got this month, I read 7 of them already! And I kind of sort of broke up with A Tale of Two Cities. But we might still see each other casually. I’m not sure Dickens and I were meant to get along.

How was your month? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

7 thoughts on “April

  1. You did awesome for being so busy! I read 4 books and 2 novellas in April, which was crazy! Only one was a book that I bought (Dreams of Gods and Monsters!)

    So far in May, I’ve read 3 books and 3 novellas, So not too bad so far (I’m having a bit of ppd, so reading a lot and buying even more books.. )

    Sounds like you and LO are having a lot of fun filled days 🙂 Spring finally poked it’s head out here and I have been to the park with the kids four times in the past week. So it’s been nice, I’ve even got a sunburn!

    I hope you have a wonderful May!

    • You’re doing great with your May reading! I think I’m on book 6 now … slowly but surely. I did get hooked on TV while sick for a week, plus, you know – raising a tiny human!

      Yay for parks! It’s so great to get out in the sunshine finally! (Said the person who is currently hermiting inside by the computer!)

  2. 6 books in one month when you have a baby is awesome! Most of my friends with babies tell me that they haven’t read a book in over a year! A year!! I have to admit though, it’s much easier now that Sully is here, to let days go by without my picking up a book.

    I can’t believe this year is almost half over already! And I fear it will be fall before spring or summer even really make an appearance! These cold evenings are too reminiscent of fall for my liking.

    • Oh gosh, I can’t imagine that! I can definitely go through the daytime without picking up a book, but I like to read before bed and sometimes when I’m up super early. It helps me wake up!

      The weather is ridiculous! Luckily it’s nice out now … the yard is almost getting green. ALMOST.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

