Review: Rock Hard (Sinners on Tour, #2) by Olivia Cunning

books-reviews-button-01

rock hardTitle: Rock Hard
Series:
Sinners on Tour, #2
Author: Olivia Cunning
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Won (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

An ultimatum can break your heart….

Every night lead singer, Sed Lionheart whips thousands of women into a frenzy with his voice alone. But the stage is the only place Sed feels any passion since he lost Jessica…

If you’re not willing to break all the rules…

It shattered her heart, but law student Jessica broke off her engagement to Sed, determined to be successful on her own terms. But no other man can ever hold a candle to Sed…

Then a chance meeting and tortuously close quarters lead to uncontrollable flares of passion and rediscovery of their unique penchant for public encounters. Now, in addition to the risk of mutual heartbreak every time they get together, they’re in danger of truly scandalous public exposure…

my thoughts-01

 I’d like to say that recently I fell in love with Olivia Cunning, but it was in 2012 that I first discovered this series and COMPLETELY fell in love with the band Sinners. And Olivia’s writing, of course. It took me a while to get the rest of the books in the series, but in the meantime, I found OTHER books by Olivia to tide me over, which was awesome. There is nothing better than falling in love with an author, only to find out they have a TON of other books to read. WIN!

Backstage Pass was pretty flat-out amazing. I’d like to say the same thing about the second book in the series, Rock Hard, but it fell just shy of amazing for me. One of the big reasons for that was the characters. I mean, yes, we still have the awesome band, full of quirky and hot musicians, but we also have Jessica, Sed’s ex-fiance, who bugged me a LOT in this story. It seemed like she was always changing her mind, picking fights with Sed, and changing her complete person for him. That drove me nuts!

Of course, then we have Sed. If ever there was a character who was completely open about his sexual encounters, totally knowing of his hotness and his impact upon women, Sed would be that character. His ego is insanely high and he knows it. Just like other members of the group say to him, he always gets his way and is completely stubborn. I think this is why I wasn’t a huge fan of the pairing between Sed and Jessica — they were both COMPLETELY stubborn characters. It just seemed so different from the relationship between Myrna and Brian in the first book.

Stubborn or not, Sed and Jessica did find one thing in common — sex. They practically DEVOURED each other throughout this entire book and I was surprised they had time to do anything else. I mean, seriously, Olivia Cunning seems to be one of the queens of writing steamy scenes — they can get QUITE epic.

Other than the romance and the sex, there was actually a pretty good story to be told. I started this book one evening, intending to read a few chapters before bed, but ended up reading about 150 pages in. It was just so addicting! Whenever I picked it up to read again, I had a hard time putting it back down (darn life!). Olivia Cunning is that good. Her characters completely draw you in and with Sinners, especially, it’s hard to escape their masculinity and the prowess they have as a band. They are completley mesmerizing.

I love this series and am so happy to be able to continue on reading it with the next book, Hot Ticket. It might be a little predictable, knowing that each guy gets his own story (and most likely will find love), but I love it. These books are totally addicting and I just can’t get enough!

rating-4-01

Author Links:

WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: Rock Hard (Sinners on Tour, #2) by Olivia Cunning

  1. I am right there with you! I have read all but Eric’s book. I really need to finish his. OH! And she published a collection of novellas for each of the wedding scenes (except Trey’s; he’s getting a whole book to himself!). I only knew about the collection because of FictFact. I hope you enjoy the rest of the series!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

