Review: What My Mother Doesn’t Know (What My Mother Doesn’t Know, #1) by Sonya Sones

books-reviews-button-01

what my mother doesn't knowTitle: What My Mother Doesn’t Know
Series: What My Mother Doesn’t Know, #1
Author: Sonya Sones
Genre: Verse, YA Contemporary
Source: Library (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

My name is Sophie.
This book is about me.
It tells
the heart-stoppingly riveting story
of my first love.
And also of my second.
And, okay, my third love, too.

It’s not that I’m boy crazy.
It’s just that even though
I’m almost fifteen
it’s like
my mind
and my body
and my heart
just don’t seem to be able to agree
on anything.

my thoughts-01

I feel quite on the fence about verse novels. I mean, I like them alright, but there’s always a lack of background information and detail — something I like to have in the stories I read. Sure some books don’t give a HUGE amount of either of these things, but at least it’s enough to really get to know the characters and feel invested in the story. With verse novels, we don’t get any of these. Or, if we do, it’s just not enough.

I’m not sure why I picked up this book. I guess you can say I was in a mood for a verse novel. It happens. I want something quick and something interesting. This story had gotten quite a few positive reviews, so I was eager to try it out.

This book read a bit like a diary of a young girl. A boy-crazy young girl. But our main character still had a good head on her shoulders, she was just interested in boys. I can’t say that the story is true of ALL young girls. In fact, Sophie seems a bit too obsessed with sex, but again — we’re just getting these diary-type entries, not the whole story.

I think that’s what was missing for me in this story. It’s really not much of a story until we get towards the end and that just wasn’t enough for me. If I wanted to read a book that it outlined like a diary, I’d rather read a book about something that actually means something. Really, it’s not all that exciting to be inside a boy-crazy girl’s head.

I doubt I’ll pick up the next book in this series, but it was still interesting to try out.

rating-3-01

Author Links
WEBGOODREADS

signature-01

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

