Discussion: A Little Library Love

musings-discussions-button-01

A while ago, Gaby over at Queen Ella Bee Reads, posted a discussion about her local library and how much she loves it. I also have my home library, which I love very much, so I thought I’d share a little library love!

Libraries are a fun place. They’re not dangerous like bookstores because the most money you’ll spend will be whatever the cost is for a library card. I’ve heard some places have them for free, but you do have to pay for them at my library. But that’s okay because the price of a library equals the price of a paperback book, which makes it totally worthwhile.

Bookstores are dangerous for me because I could spend a LOT of money in them. This isn’t to say that I don’t go into them because I can get everything at the library, but I like to think I buy less at a bookstore than I would if I didn’t have a library card. I’ve even talked about test-driving books in the past, which is what I sometimes do with library books!

So, for the price of a paperback book, I can take out a fair amount of books. Like, 100 books. That sounds pretty reasonable, right? Not that I could read 100 books in the three week loan period, but it’s still much more reasonable than me buying 100 books from the bookstore (would anyone do that in one trip? It’s unthinkable!).

Some people might say, “But, Kristilyn! If I take out books from the library, I’ll never get to them in time! They’ll be due back in three weeks – that’s not enough time!”

Oh, but it is! You’ll get some read, but the ones you don’t get to you can either renew or you can take them out again. I’ve taken out MANY books from the library only to have them sit on my kitchen table for three weeks. And then another three weeks, because I renewed them. And then ANOTHER three weeks, because I renewed them yet again (my library lets us renew items twice – so long as no one else is looking for that item). After that time I still haven’t gotten to that book, so back to the library it goes.

This is okay! Because when I really get the urge to read it again, I’ll just take it out again. Or, if it’s not in, I can take out a selection from THOUSANDS of books and put a hold on the book I want. It’s that simple! Then, my library will phone or email me when it’s in.

Another great thing about my library is that they offer ebooks AND free training on ereaders — we can even lend out ereaders! I’m sure some libraries make people pay for training, but I’m sure there are some that offer free training, as well. They have a good selection of ebooks as well as FREADING, which are books that you can take out whenever you like, since there aren’t any licenses attached to those books.

Through my library, I can get fiction books, non-fiction books, bestsellers, children’s books, DVDs, CDs, magazines, audiobooks – ALL for the price of a paperback!

Am I starting to sound like a commercial yet?

Another great thing is that if I can’t find a book on the shelf at my library, they can do an interlibrary loan through another library in the province that may have what I’m looking for. Chances are, there are very few books my library can’t get a hold of. It’s just a winning situation all around!

And lastly, the best thing about my local library is the people who work there. Seriously, they are darn nice people! I sometimes think that a bookstore person is chatting me up because they want me to buy more books, but librarians chat with you because they just love books. It’s as simple as that!

So, if I haven’t convinced you yet, go check out your local library and see what it has to offer! You might be surprised by how many great things they have.

Are you a fan of your local library? If you aren’t, what’s holding you back? 

signature-01

14 thoughts on “Discussion: A Little Library Love

  1. Libraries are wonderful places! You can always find something there whether it’s a book, magazine, or even a booklist put together by staff highlighting favorite genres, authors, etc.

  2. I do love the library! It’s a great way to get access to all of the books — without paying a single cent. It’s also a wonderful way to, as you said, “test drive” books, which I prefer to do over buying them blindly. I love that you were able to share your love for the library with us all!

  3. I love my local library. Our library cards are free and a dollar to replace. I have lost a few so I have had to pay a few replacement fees and late fees, but it saves money in the long run. I would not be able to read as much as I do because of the local library. I do not have the money to buy every book I read, but I do have the time to drive to the library to pick up a book. I will be hosting the library books readathon in June and sharing all my library love during that week. My library offers many of the same progrrams as yours does.

    • That’s awesome! Ours aren’t free, which is the only thing that sucks, but it only costs the amount for buying one book, which is totally reasonable. I look forward to your library books read-a-thon! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap| May 11-17, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  5. Here in NB, our library cards don’t cost anything. I’ve had a card since I was in Grade 6. I LOVE the library..lol I haven’t used it as much lately, but that’s mostly because I have so many unread books that I feel guilty borrowing from the library because I need to read what I have first 😛

    We also have the interlibrary loaning throughout the province and it’s $2 to replace a lost card. I know they have the ebook thing too, but I’ve never used it.

    • That’s great that it’s free! I wonder how many people lose cards, though? They could make a lot of money off of that! And at least returning unread books to the library doesn’t cost a cent. 🙂

  6. It’s interesting to see how library’s in different countries differ – we don’t pay for a libary card (unless we lose it) but we can only get 6 books out at a time, plus a few extras (DVD’s, CD’s). I try and use the library whenever I can as it saves money (yay) but sometimes iit’s anoying because we don’t get the latest books and it can a) take a long time to come in or b) not come in at all (even using interlibrary loan). But overall, library’s can be great 🙂

    • That’s one thing that bugs me about the library is the waiting! Usually I’m fine with it though I do try and get my name on the list first! That’s great that they’re free where you are!

  7. Pingback: May Wrap Up | Lose Time ReadingLose Time Reading

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

